We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best people create best venue” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Manoir de Brendel Estate

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Le Manoir de Brendel Estate to your Saves list
Le Manoir de Brendel Estate
5.0 of 5 Guest house   |   R45 Main Road | La Motte, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 58 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best people create best venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

We had our wedding weekend at this absolute gem in Franschoek. Stunning venue, beautiful accommodation, garden and pool. The best by far is the amazing staff with Karin at the helm. She was calm and supportive and made the whole day spectacular. The staff went above and beyond what's expected to create a wedding weekend that exceeded our expectations. We can't wait to return.

Room Tip: All rooms are stunning but go for the pool facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lemanoirdebrendel, Manager at Le Manoir de Brendel Estate, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
What can I say; stunning wedding + stunning couple + stunning guests = A Day to Remember forever. Thank you so much for the compliments, the privilege of hosting this wonderful day with you and the best weather ever blessing that day. Kind regards, Karin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    5
    3
    4
    3
See reviews for
12
37
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Alpha Centuri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

My wife and I recently spent an excellent 3 nights at Le Manoir de Brendel. The setting was breath-taking, the food and wine were tremendous, but above all the customer service was outstanding. Karin, Anna and Megan were all wonderfully attentive - going out of their way to ensure we had a marvellous stay. We were given a discount, as it was a quiet time, AND an upgrade (to the Honeymoon Suite!! - which was astoundingly luxurious). Sadly, the swimming pool could not be used as it was was undergoing annual maintenance and one minor criticism was that the garden staff were noisy early on the first morning denying us a much-needed lie-in; but these did not detract from an extremely happy visit.

The only reason I am giving Karin and her team 5-stars is because I am not allowed to give 6.

There you go Karin, you now have a lot to live up to!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lemanoirdebrendel, Manager at Le Manoir de Brendel Estate, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Wow! 6 Stars!!! That is such a huge compliment. And yes a big one to live up to. Amazing how little hick ups can be forgiven when service has been the better part of your stay - good service maketh this industry I believe. These fabulous reviews are all going up on our glory wall for all to see. I will email Anna and Megan as they are no longer with us - so proud of them. Until next time :-) Kindest regards, Karin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

My boyfriend and I have just returned from spending valentines weekend here. All I can say is that I'm sad to be home. This truly is a 'home away from home'. The staff are lovely and welcoming, and the venue luxurious yet unpretentious. Karen was kind enough to give us a discount as they were hosting a wedding there over the weekend- which really didn't inconvenience us at all, actually, the bridal couple and their guests seemed to have so much fun that it's made me want to get married there- the chapel on the grounds is absolutely beautiful. Thanks so much for a lovely stay. We will be back.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lemanoirdebrendel, Manager at Le Manoir de Brendel Estate, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
So glad that we could make your stay so great that you are considering having your wedding here! It would be a wonderful honor for us to host your most special day on this fabulous farm and repeat the great service we always strive for. Hope to hear from you in the near future. Warm regards,Karin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights -31st Jan & 1st Feb. great place to stay and oh so peaceful and laid back. Our room was fantastic - very clean and spacious with a large bathroom/shower room. Staff very helpful and booked our restaurant choices for us before our arrival also arranging Pick-up and drop-off for one of them. Attentive staff and regularly asked if we wanted drinks etc. breakfast lovely and cooked to order. Pool area ok though not all available beds had mattresses and towel on them. Some lovely walks available around the estate and delightful little wedding chapel in the grounds. Would certainly recommend to anyone wanting a peaceful place to stay and worth a revisit. Spa available which we did not use so cannot comment on this.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lemanoirdebrendel, Manager at Le Manoir de Brendel Estate, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Many thanks for you praise - appreciation goes a long way. Pity about not enough lounger cushions when you were here. We were waiting for our order as so many had perished over the season. We made sure to order enough back up this time and apologize that it is a little too late for you. Will make sure that this will never happen again. Hope to see you again some time soon. Warm regards,
Karin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

My husband Brian and I got married at Le Manoir de Brendel in October 2013. I can't think of enough positive things to say about the Karin and her team. They went out of their way to make our day truly spectacular. The venue itself is also stunning. You don't get much more natural beauty than Franschoek and Le Manoir itself is elegant, tastefully decorated and comfortable.
It's worth a visit whether you make it part of your trip around the winelands or choose to have an event there, you simply cannot go wrong. I would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lemanoirdebrendel, Manager at Le Manoir de Brendel Estate, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
A wedding day to be remembered forever! We are so grateful to have been part of your celebration Brian & Irani, and please pop in for a cup of coffee or a glass of vino when nearby. Thank you for your generous compliments which are always conveyed to our fabulous staff. Kind regards & happy married life to you, Karin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

Great place made better by excellent staff - good location , great breakfast, would happily stay there again. And an awesome shower!!!!
Rooms are large with all the facilities. Comfortable beds. Nice deck area to sit out, area is quiet and secure.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lemanoirdebrendel, Manager at Le Manoir de Brendel Estate, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review. Positive feedback is such a powerful tool to keep us striving to continue on the path of excellent service and improving all the time. Good luck with your '3 musketeers' venture and promise to repeat our hospitality again on your return. Kind regards,
Karin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

We choose to have our most important day at the Le Manoir de Brendal Estate.
The estate is situated between the Franschoek mountains and the staff leave no stone unturned, in order to make your stay as memorable as possible.

Our Journey started on the 13th of December 2013, we checked in at one of the suites by the swimming pool.
On our wedding day we moved to the honeymoon suite and started the day with a delicious breakfast, we then continued with preparations.
We, myself and my bridal party, were wined and dined by the venue staff. \
Once the wedding guest started arriving they made sure everything was prepared and did everything possible to ensure that the guests' plates and glasses were always full.

We would recommend this estate for every occasion, whether you want a function of just to stay for a night, this is the place to make your memories and let your dreams begin.

Thank you to the Le Manior de Brendal Team

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lemanoirdebrendel, Manager at Le Manoir de Brendel Estate, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dearest Sharon & Gerrie, its been a wonderful pleasure hosting your oh-so-beautiful-wedding celebration. Somehow, hosting weddings, is such a passion for all of us working at Le Manoir de Brendel. Seeing a happy couple and guests soothes the aching feet and tired limbs until the day is done. Remember our return special for couples commemorating your union. Warm regards, Karin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Manoir de Brendel Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Manoir de Brendel Estate

Address: R45 Main Road | La Motte, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Manoir de Brendel Estate 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le-Manoir-de-Brendel Estate is situated 55km’s from Cape Town International Airport, in the heart of the Cape Winelands, a mere 5 minute drive, from the historical Franschhoek Village, rated amongst the top gourmet & wine towns of South Africa on the R45. Welcome to those in the search of the extraordinary, whether it is breath-taking beauty, a sense of calm or the special refinements of culture, Le-Manoir-de-Brendel offers just that. Our 5-star rating represents the highest category for accommodation and service. Continental & Hot Breakfast is served overlooking the Klein Drakenstein Mountain and vineyards. Bring your racquet along and enjoy a game of tennis on our court overlooking the vineyards. If you cannot break away from your exercise regime there is always our gym for a serious workout. Both young and old enjoy playing a game of chess on our Giant Garden Chessboard. For more action, there’s a 1.2km walking trail through the vineyards along the Franschhoek River and over the Berg River via a wooden terrace. Lazing in and around our swimming pool is what our guests do best when the Franschhoek summer days are upon us. Lounging around our guest lounge fireplace is just the thing to do on cold and rainy days. Book a wine tasting session in the afternoon enjoying our best wines and the basics of professional wine tasting knowledge. You will get a chance to identify the various aromas of the wine and take information with you for future tastings. All suites are serviced daily and equipped with air conditioners, under-floor heating, direct dial telephone, M-Net, mini-bar, coffee and tea making facilities, safe for valuables, hairdryer, gowns, slippers and luxury bathroom amenities. Children are welcome. We can add single beds to most of our very spacious rooms with double bathrooms if the family suite is not available – see our surcharge rates. Memorable wedding and other functions have been hosted on our picturesque estate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Le Manoir de Brendel Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Manoir de Brendel Estate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.