We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deservedly Number 1 in Franschhoek” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Avondrood Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Avondrood Guest House to your Saves list
Avondrood Guest House
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   39 Huguenot Street | Stellenbosch area, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 58 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Dunblane
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Deservedly Number 1 in Franschhoek”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My wife and I spent five idyllic nights here at the end of our holiday in South Africa. It was our second visit to Franschhoek and our stay at the excellent Avondrood Guest House made it even more enjoyable than the first. As described in previous reviews, the Avondrood comes close to perfection. The house is beautiful, the rooms are lovely and the garden is tirelessly manicured. Justin runs the place with total professionalism and dedication, ably assisted by Lesley and the rest of the team. He was always available to help with planning the day or make suggestions, if required. Delicious breakfasts on the garden terrace were a delight. The Guest House is handily placed just off the main street and within a few minutes walk from many of Franschhoek's top restaurants. A drink at the bar before heading out in the evening is a 'must'. For beer drinkers, I can thoroughly recommend the locally produced 'Amber Weiss'. Looking forward to returning before too long!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
124
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was our first time visiting Franschhoek, and I couldn’t imagine a better place to stay than Avondrood Guest House. Justin was a fantastic host – from making sure the stay was perfect to helping with winery and restaurant recommendations. On our first night, we arrived later than anticipated, around 7:30 pm. Justin greeted us and explained that since the best local restaurants typically booked up early in the day, he had taken the liberty of making an 8pm reservation for us at one of his favorite restaurants. That restaurant, The French Connection, and his recommendation for the following evening, Ryan’s Kitchen, were both fantastic choices. Justin clearly went above and beyond to make our stay memorable.

The location of the guest house is ideal, as it’s only a block or two to walk into the main part of town. The rooms are lovely, and there is a beautiful patio for breakfast. The grounds feel like a small relaxation retreat – beautiful landscaping, pool, and hot tub.

Our trip to South Africa was amazing across the board, but this was the most difficult place to leave. Two nights was not enough. We’d rate this 6 stars if we could. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rivermanor, Owner at Avondrood Guest House, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Guest,

This has to be one of our best reviews ever, thank you very much! Perfect timing to motivate and inspire the Avondrood team, as we go into the holiday season!

We are truly grateful and we hope to be able to host you again someday!

Kind regards,

Justin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was our first time in Franschhoek and we didn't know what to expect but we were blown away. The valley has breathtaking scenery, so many wine farms, great atmosphere and a nice sized town to explore. On top of that there cannot be any better way to experience Franschhoek than from Avondrood Guest House. It is perfectly nestled just off the main drag so you can walk to many bars and restaurants in the evening but you aren't on the main thoroughfare of traffic. The garden is incredible, so peaceful and secluded and offering sun and shade with a nice swimming pool and a jacuzzi. Breakfast in the garden is a real treat and the spread has everything you could ask for. Justin, Leslie and the rest of the staff were very helpful, welcoming and really make you feel at home. And Justin has lots of tips to help plan your daily itineraries. This really is a top class establishment and we hope to be back soon!

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potchefstroom, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

They say home is where you wifi connects automatically, well then yes, Avondrood is home for me. This is my third time this year that I've stayed at with them. All in all this guesthouse speaks of excellence, from the front desk service, thanks Lesley, to their manicured gardens. Their rooms are spacious and the bedding luxurious.
I'll always come back here!

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was my fourth stay at Avondrood and it just seems to get better. The rooms, the breakfasts, the staff and customer service is what makes me come back again and again. And this was definitely not my last visit. I'll be back again.

Thank you to Justin and his amazing girls for makin every stay just perfect!

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I spent 2 nights at Avondrood and had a lovely time. The entire place is beautiful, the rooms are spacious and have a nice view of the mountains. The yard is perfectly manicured and offers spots to relax in the sun and watch the sky turn brilliant colors against the stunning mountain back drop in the evening. The location is ideally situated and you can walk down the main street in franschoek to all of the restaurants.

The staff was very helpful and friendly and knowledgeable of the area and things to do.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed a couple of nights at this excellent guest house with manicured gardens, superb rooms and a charming and welcoming host Justin. The place is very central to Franschhoek, walking distance to most restaurants and the town centre. the rooms are themed and ours was featuring pictures from Justin's sister from her safari trips.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: all rooms are arranged as such to have privacy and good access to the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Avondrood Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avondrood Guest House

Address: 39 Huguenot Street | Stellenbosch area, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Avondrood Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy warm hospitality in this charming 4-star luxury Victorian Cape-Dutch style house built in 1870, facing the breathtaking mountains and located in the village of Franschhoek. In less than 2 minutes walk you’re in the village center of Franschhoek, with all their lovely restaurants and art & craft shops. Justin & Caine, your hosts from the South Africa, will offer you true hospitality and personal service. Beautiful lush 2000 square meter garden with swimming pool and Jacuzzi. Stylish, spacious air-conditioned bedrooms with king size bed (extra length), Wi-Fi, LCD-TV, DVD/CD-player, iPod docking system, alarm clock, radio, minibar. En suite bathrooms with rain shower, Victorian baths and personalized beauty care range. Enjoy home-made pastries and freshly high quality coffee during a leisurely and extensive breakfast on the terrace or indoors. Soak up the sun at the pool, or unwind in one of the cosy corners of the garden. Picnic hampers available on request. Secure off street parking. Children are welcome. Free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Avondrood Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avondrood Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.