We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location in Franschhoek” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guesthouse to your Saves list
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guesthouse
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5 Akademie Street | PO Box 275, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Franschhoek
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect location in Franschhoek”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

We had the most wonderful stay at the Akademie St guesthouse, as part of our driving tour of the western cape. The owners and staff couldn't have been friendlier or more helpful, and we echo other comments about the quality of the breakfasts! And it couldn't be more convenient for walking into the centre of Franschhoek. We will definitely be going back.
Bill & Clare Fox

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

922 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    892
    29
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
85
695
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
273 helpful votes 273 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

We, with friends, had the pleasure of spending 3 nights here in early February and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. We were welcomed by Hazel who showed as around the property and, as we were early, gave us a recommendation for lunch whilst our rooms were prepared. On our return we were shown to our rooms which were Uitsig - a large first floor room and Twyfeling A - on the ground floor.

Uitsig is a large room with a balcony with a view of the mountains, it is comfortable, well furnished and equipped with a (well stocked) fridge and microwave and some very interesting original artwork on the walls (we never did find out who was the subject in the nude painting hanging above the bed). The bathroom was large with a separate shower and bath. Twyfeling A is also a nice room and features a bathroom within an attached conservatory.

Elsewhere around this diverse property were small swimming pools and sunbeds in an enclosed courtyard and inside a lounge and library with many interesting books to borrow (but not keep) and lots of interesting paintings all around.

Breakfast was taken outdoors in the courtyard and was truly excellent with a wide variety of hot and cold fare all served at table and all freshly prepared. Around the property you will also meet Anna - a friendly black labrador - very cute she is too.

Katherine and Hazel very helpfully gave us restaurant reservations (and made the bookings on our behalf) - we ate at the very popular Reuben's which was good, but far and away our favourite was the Cafe des Artes set back from the main street - delicious unpretentious fare and very reasonably priced with excellent service.

The hotel is very well sited, only a few minutes walk from the town centre in a quiet side street with ample on-street parking and feels very safe and secure.

All in all an excellent stay and when (not if) we return to Franschhoek we will have no hesitation in returning to the Akademie Street Boutique Hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambleside, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

My wife and I stayed for 3 days in Feb 2014. We stayed in Gelatenheid. We really valued the spacious accommodation, private pool, and garden area. It isn't cheap, but for the same price you are getting a far better deal than in 5 star hotels.

The staff go out of their way to help you and they are not obtrusive. For people who value their comfort and privacy this is as good as you will get in the winelands. Breakfast is excellent with delicious fruit and yoghourt and a great cooked meal if you want it. We did!

We ate out at restaurants each night, but next time we stay, will consider our waistlines more, and eat in some nights.The kitchen is quite adequate to prepare a light meal.

The top floor bedroom and verandah have good views and splendid baths ,both inside and out.

The only downsides we can think of is that the stairs are a bit narrow and steep ( but still OK for an unfit 65 year old).

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsbruck, Austria
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Really a very nice place to stay with a very warm welcome by the staff and the owners.
Magnificent Breakfast. Stayed in the Vreugte room in reality a small house which was once a shed was transformed to very nice room with private terrace, garden and even small private pool.
Would like to return anytime!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

We stayed for 5 nights and loved it. Mix of exquisite taste and authentic hospitality. The property is divided into smaller patio's affording each room/suite with a lot of privacy. You don't have a sense that you are staying in a hotel

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Don't bother spending time researching for somewhere to stay in Franschhoek! We were booked into the Uitsig room which has steps up to it which shouldn't be a problem if you are mobile. We did try to change to a ground floor room as I had my broken ankle in a compression boot but they were fully booked so couldn't oblige. However I managed the steps without too much difficulty and the room is delightful. Very spacious and tastefully decorated. The breakfast is very good and with plenty of choice. Laundry service and mini bar and snacks all complimentary!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

We have travelled a lot around the world but never stayed at a place like this! The hospitality you meet can only come naturally not after training! Katherine and Arthur with family, Hazel, Margie and the rest of the staff made our stay perfect. We stayed to nights in Twyfeling B and one night in Uitsig. Both rooms are beautiful and spacious! Real luxury! Petra the house dog is a sweethart you just have to love! Breakfast is served by the pool and offers a lot of options both cold and warm. Mostly homemade! Margie is there and know when you need somthing even before you know it yourself! Stay you will never regret it! We are certainly coming back!

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guesthouse

Address: 5 Akademie Street | PO Box 275, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guesthouse 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Number of rooms: 6 suites. Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House in Franschhoek offers luxury five star accommodation in five unique buildings all situated on the same beautiful property in a quiet area of the village in the heart of the Cape wine lands. There are four swimming pools and four gardens. This hotel and guest house is in a quiet area within easy walking distance to the restaurants. - Owner Managed ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.