We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B I have ever stayed in...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guesthouse to your Saves list
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guesthouse
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5 Akademie Street | PO Box 275, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Franschhoek
Puerto La Cruz, Venezuela
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best B&B I have ever stayed in...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Good location - a few blocks of the main street
- Free laundry
- Free mini bar
- Lots of little amenities
- Great host, hostess, staff and Anna the dog
Fantastic room with open atrium and heated floor.

Room Tip: They email out a very helpful guide to the area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

922 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    892
    29
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
85
695
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bergen, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We stayed in ocfober 2013 in Vreugde for the eighth time. We really love Akademie Street Guesthouse and will come back absolutely when we visit Franschhoek in the future. Every time we enjoy the very welcoming and helpful staff, the delicious breakfast and the wonderful accommodation. The location is very central, it takes a couple of minutes to walk to the town centre and various restaurants. Arthur, Katherine and Hazel are very accommodating hosts and provide you all the information you need about restaurants, trips etc.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

My wife and I loved Akademie Street. We stayed for one night but wish it was for longer. Katherine and Arthur are really wonderful and very accommodating hosts. Also, the breakfast options in the morning are perfect! We stayed in the Uitsig room but I imagine all of the rooms are great!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

My wife and I spent two nights here in August as part of a golden wedding anniversary celebration. Everything about this hotel and its management is impeccable and we can not sing its praises too loudly. The staff are welcoming, friendly and extremely helpful without ever being intrusive. The decor and furnishings are tasteful and the breakfasts beautifully presented. We were accommodated in the main house in a lovely en suite bedroom with exclusive use of an adjoining elegant conservatory where we took our breakfasts. The location is very quiet but very central, only a couple of minutes' walk from Le Quartier Francais, a wonderful restaurant, and the town centre. Parking presents no problem. If we return to Franschhoek, we will certainly make a beeline for this delightful hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I have been one of those people who uses tripadvisor but never writes reviews, and having been prompted to change my ways by a recent holiday there is one review I did feel strongly I should have written at the time but never did. My husband and I stayed in 'Vreugde' in September 2009 and it was one of the loveliest places we had ever stayed in. Scanning through current reviews, it looks as though nothing has changed and that Arthur and Katherine are still providing the same incredible service.

Four years on, we still talk about this place and still hope to come back one day. The accommodation was spotless and the breakfast and service incredible (and the best home-made muesli I've ever tasted).

Thank you both - and sorry it took so long to review, better late than never I hope!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Akademie for one night in September. The attention to detail was outstanding and the staff were all wonderful, friendly and a wealth of information. We wished we could have stayed for a week. We would love to come back with friends in the future.
Penny from Australia:)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We spent 2 nights at Akademie Street and thoroughly enjoyed our stay, I wish we had more time there. We stayed in the Oortuiging cottage with our daughter, it was a lovely cottage with wonderful furnishings. We loved to quiet garden out back and close proximity to all the wine country has to offer. The staff provided information and ideas for our days in the wine country as well as restaurant recommendations. We loved breakfast outdoors in the main house garden. As we needed to leave early our second morning, the staff sent breakfast items to the cottage the night before so we could eat before our early start. I highly recommend Akademie Street, the location, accommodations and staff are superb.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guesthouse

Address: 5 Akademie Street | PO Box 275, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guesthouse 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Number of rooms: 6 suites. Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House in Franschhoek offers luxury five star accommodation in five unique buildings all situated on the same beautiful property in a quiet area of the village in the heart of the Cape wine lands. There are four swimming pools and four gardens. This hotel and guest house is in a quiet area within easy walking distance to the restaurants. - Owner Managed ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.