We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cannot be faulted” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guesthouse to your Saves list
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guesthouse
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5 Akademie Street | PO Box 275, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Franschhoek
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Cannot be faulted”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

At the absolutely amazing Akademie Street Guest House the attention to detail exhibited by the owners of this little paradise is nothing short of remarkable. To the extent that in our room was a vase of sunflowers strategically added from the memory of our last stay where My husband proposed to me and told the owners that I love sunflowers. This, to me, was a sign of an ideal host. Other features such as the size and decor of the rooms, complimentary mini bar, and friendly welcome are among the reasons we will go back time and time again.

Nowhere else have I experienced such genuine, warm, lovely hosts.

Room Tip: The Uitsig room is divine
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

922 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    892
    29
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
85
695
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

the only thing that disappointed us on this stay was that we only got to stay one night in this beautiful guesthouse! We were greeted at the door by Hazel (and the gorgeous Anna, their rescue dog) and shown to our stunning room, with access to beautiful gardens and a pool, and complimentary snacks and drinks in the mini fridge. Hazel was so helpful with recommendations for places to eat and things to do. Although we were in a guest house, we felt completed secluded and at our ease. The breakfast we received in the morning was delicious, and the addition of different herbs, etc (only added after we have been consulted) made it a different from the norm.
I would recommend Akademie to anyone staying in the area, they definitely have set the bar high for themselves!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Thomas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

This was the first place we stayed in South Africa and it set the bar really high for any of our other accommodations. From the moment we walked in, it was charming. We stayed in the lovely, spacious Uitsig room. The owners and staff could not have been more accommodating and helpful. It seemed that whatever we wanted, they bent over backwards to get it for us. The location of this Guesthouse is outstanding. You can walk just about anywhere you want to go. The restaurants that we went to, based on Hazel's recommendations, were superb. The Guesthouse itself had delicious breakfasts. We really enjoyed our chats with Katherine (owner) and Hazel (manager). Franschhoek is a MUST on any South African itinerary and Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guesthouse is THE place to stay!!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are terrific and somehow, they all afford a great deal of privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

Wow! Service,rooms,staff-all above reproach.This establishment well & truly reflects the outstanding hype that has been written about it.If only we coud stay longer.Congratulations & keep up the great work!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Wonderful staff from the owners to all employees. Outstanding accomodations. Superb attention to the guests. We had a great time. Great attention to details. Very kind and polite service. The guesthouse and rooms are built with maximum comfort from the heated floors to the excellent lighting. Beautiful Garden. The breakfast service is delicious. It is a pitty that we cannot have lunch or dinner. Meals would be excellent, too. On the other hand, Franschhoek has so much to offer in terms of food and drinks...Akademie Guesthouse is the place to go back to when in the wine area.

Room Tip: I would say that any room one chooses will be a great stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Wow. We couldn't have asked for more from our stay. Ditch the hotels and stay at this 5* Guest House. You get so much more charm, personality, luxury and relaxation from staying here. The property is owned by the most adorable couple, who are very helpful and insightful. We stayed in the Gelatenheid house, which was beyond beautiful. I loved that the mini bar, snacks and laundry were all complimentary. Small touches like this go a long way. The breakfast, again included, was the best of our 3 week trip, and was cooked to order. I could go on and on, but just do yourself a massive favor and book here now. You definitely won't regret it.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and stay in the Gelatenheid. To have a two storey house to yourself in such a beautif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Relaxation and luxury are two words that come to mind when describing Akademie Street. This wonderful boutique hotel and guesthouse is located in the picturesque Franschhoek and from the moment you step in the door, it seems that everything is designed - and all of the people working there are dedicated to ensuring - that you have a relaxed and enjoyable stay. Nothing seems too much trouble - from providing helpful tips and making restaurant bookings to giving directions and even doing laundry. The room was tastefully designed and very comfortable, with an excellent bathroom, an area to relax and complementary mini bar. The other public rooms and gardens were also delightful. Breakfasts were fantastic (and are included), with excellent muesli and great cooked breakfasts available to order, as well as chance to interact with the lovely staff members who were unfailingly friendly, interested (and interesting) and engaging which, along with the lovely Anna the dog, created a real sense of warmth and an individualised stay. I cannot more highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guesthouse

Address: 5 Akademie Street | PO Box 275, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guesthouse 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Number of rooms: 6 suites. Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House in Franschhoek offers luxury five star accommodation in five unique buildings all situated on the same beautiful property in a quiet area of the village in the heart of the Cape wine lands. There are four swimming pools and four gardens. This hotel and guest house is in a quiet area within easy walking distance to the restaurants. - Owner Managed ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.