We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Stopover in Franschhoek” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guesthouse

Save Saved
You added Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guesthouse to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guesthouse
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5 Akademie Street | PO Box 275, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 hotels in Franschhoek
Herts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“The Perfect Stopover in Franschhoek”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Like most previous reviewers, we can only sing the praises of this accommodation.

The guesthouse is ideally located within 10 minute walk to the centre of the main town. The property is tastefully kitted out to provide 1st class comfort levels which you would be hard pressed to better, whilst maintaining character.

Breakfast was excellent and set us up for the day.

The owners & all the staff were extremely friendly. Special praise to Hazel for her advice and general friendliness throughout our stay.

We would recommend this guest house to anyone looking for a touch of class.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

761 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    737
    24
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
71
576
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
eastbourne
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Unfortunately we only stayed for one night but like so many other reviews this place is faultless, the attention to detail is incredible. Arthur, Katherine, Hazel and their staff do an excellent job.
The hotel is perfectly positioned for walking to the shops and restaurants of Franschhoek.
Breakfast is amazing one of the best I have ever experienced.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Among so many great hotels in the area akademie would be my choice again.
The location is very convenient to drive to the wineries during the day and walk to have dinner in one of downtown amazing restaurants.
Service is unbelievable good as well as deco, breakfast, gardens and so on.
A very friendly Labrador ensures a very welcoming atmosphere.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We are since many years regular visitors to Franschhoek. Went in October 2012 for my partners 50 th birthday. Having stayed in many different guest houses and hotels in the valley, we choose Akademie Street based on reviews- I regret we have not stayed there on all our previous visits- what an amazing place- one of the best Boutique Hotels in the world. We stayed in their biggest property which was wonderful, friends from Nairobi stayed in one of the big rooms, very lovely too. Breakfast in the mornings is fantastic, fresh and plentiful, nothing is too much and every little detail thought about. The whole team working there is helpful and can't do enough for you. We had the most amazing birthday breakfast, a home made birthday cake, champagne.... They thought about everything- it was more than we had hoped for for a 50th b'day celebration. I am still often thinking about our lovely stay. If you are looking for a special place- stay there, you will not be disappointed. Katherine and Arthur- many congratulations on your wonderful place, we can't wait to return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed at Akademie guest house just a few days ago as part of our honeymoon and had an absolutely lovely 3 nights there! the hosts Arthur and Katherine are very charming and sweet and we felt like old friends by the time we left. We stayed in the Gelatenheid room which had everything you would need and want in a room. Gorgeous views, private pool, a lovely fountain, bathtub on the balcony, candles, snacks, drinks, gourmet coffee, magazines, lovely art, very spacious. The hotel itself is walking distance to main street and serves an AMAZING breakfast.

If you're coming to Franschhoek - stay here. You'll be glad you did!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Large, well appointed rooms in quiet street of Franschhoek.
Arthur and Katherine ( assisted by the friendly staff and Annie the labrador ) are wonderful hosts and a mine of good information on the area, including restaurants, vineyards, trips etc.
The courtyard is a lovely place to relax and enjoy a leisurely, well prepared breakfast.
Can highly recommend staying here.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We had the most delightful stay earlier this month. Gelatenheid is a beautiful, spacious and comfortable cottage. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left (sadly only two nights) we felt very welcome and privileged to stay in such a beautiful guesthouse. Absolutely nothing to fault. The staff were charming and the surroundings beautiful. The Mc William Smiths are true professionals with many years in hospitality and it shows!

The breakfasts are excellent and other pluses include free laundry and free drinks then there is the outside bath in this particular cottage: great on a hot day as well as the private swimming pool and Anna the lovely house dog.

Thank you all so much.

Room Tip: Go for Gelatenheid. The most expensive but oh so comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guesthouse

Address: 5 Akademie Street | PO Box 275, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 hotels in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guesthouse 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Number of rooms: 6 suites. Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House in Franschhoek offers luxury five star accommodation in five unique buildings all situated on the same beautiful property in a quiet area of the village in the heart of the Cape wine lands. There are four swimming pools and four gardens. This hotel and guest house is in a quiet area within easy walking distance to the restaurants. - Owner Managed ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.