We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our new home in Franschhoek” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guesthouse to your Saves list
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guesthouse
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5 Akademie Street | PO Box 275, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Franschhoek
Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
“Our new home in Franschhoek”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Wow. From the moment we started communicating in regards to reservations, we knew that Akademie was going to be special.

We arrived on a Wednesday having driven from Cape Town, using the clear directions that Jessie had emailed to us. We were greeted by Anna (their wonderful dog), Jessie and Arthur. There were no formalities. Just shown to our room with warmth, and shown how our first room - Vreugde works.

Vreugde is a smaller room with a huge courtyard and its own plunge pool. Our second room was Twyfeling. This was part of the main house, with a huge bedroom, a conservatory and a courtyard with a lemon, lime and guava tree.

Both rooms were very well appointed. The beds were massive and comfortable. There is an all inclusive mini bar - bottle of SA bubbles, beer, whisky/gin/brandy/Amarula, soft drinks, bottled water, as well as snacks (crisps, biscuits, decadent chocolates), and a Nespresso machine. What more could one ask for.

The bathrooms were plush with quality towels and robes, very high end toiletries, heated floor and loads of natural light.

There was always a fruit platter in the room, loads of seating area, magazines, DSTV with a plasma screen, iPod (does not work with 5) docking station and so on.

Your laundry is included, which was a huge plus point. Leave it in your bathtub in the morning, and it comes back all fresh by late afternoon.

What made the place very special were the staff. Always smiling, wanting to be of help, wanting to talk, and giving suggestions on where to go. Katherine, Jessie and Arthur recommended so many restaurants to us. Brilliant. They made the reservations for us, and we always got great tables.

Breakfast was an affair and a half. A fruit platter that is better then any 5/6/7 star hotel. So much on there, so fresh, and best of all, the fruit was ripe and sweet. Home made muesli, a juice of the day, loads of coffee, and a hot breakfast. Anything you pretty much wanted was available. We had it indoors once due to rain, in our conservatory twice due to the weather, and by the pool on the last day. Never a hurried affair, it was served at a pace you liked.

Anna - a gorgeous dog. She also made our stay special.

WiFi was included, and very fast.

Akademie is a non pretentious place that offers bespoke service, and the staff all make you feel like you are family. We are already plan future visits with friends.

Well done to everyone at Akademie for creating a haven in a heavenly village.

Room Tip: They are all brilliant. Each is so individual and has its own charm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

854 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    827
    26
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
80
642
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

My husband and I stayed here in February after travelling the Garden Route. I am so glad Hazel managed to get me a room after Trailfinders failed too. This beautiful Boutique B&B really fulfilled my expectations and more. I wish that I had booked 3 nights instead of 2. This has got to be the best place to stay in Franschhoek. I could go on and on .... Just look at the other reviews, it's all true. It is one of my top places in SA. Thank you Catherine, Hazel and Arthur for such a fabulous time, service, breakfast and the room was just perfection!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Neck, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Due to a change of plans based on a early checkout from a hotel that disappointed greatly--despite generally favorable trip advisor reviews, we had spent 3 nights at the very luxurious La Residence before checking in for 4 nights at Akademie. At 1/3 the price, nevertheless it did not disappoint.
Catherine, Arthur, and Hazel were gracious, considerate, and warm and friendly hosts. Breakfast was a delight and the friendly Labrador Anna, a most pleasant companion. Vreugde was a cozy room and the garden and pool a tranquil retreat. In short, the place has great vibes, and a wonderful base to explore the wine country.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

From the moment we arrived and were warmly welcomed by Hazel, we knew we were somewhere very special indeed. We stayed in Vreugde and loved the private garden with plunge pool, and the wonderful breakfasts taken in the dappled shade of the courtyard will never be forgotten. The staff were superb - nothing was too much trouble, and Katherine and Arthur are a fascinating source of information, and were also able to book us into every restaurant we requested. This has to be the best place to stay in Franschhoek ,and probably in the whole of South Africa!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Well, what shall I say? We stayed at Akademie street for the second time within two years, and I am happy to confirm that it has even further improved. Catherine, Hazel and Arthur are so nice people and always have time for a chat. All the house is lovely decorated and full of lovely little details. it's like staying home away from home.
the breakfast is fabulous and you will hardly fine any better in the world. Try the Omelette with sweet fresh tomatoes. Mmmmh.
With all the good reviews it is mandatory to book well in advance to avoid disappointent. (6+ Months)

Room Tip: Ask for the "pool room" which has a very large bathroom all surrounded by glass into a sma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Staying in Akademie Street was a joy. From the moment we arrived we were welcomed like family, yet treated to five star professional service. The staff cannot do more for you. Little touches like no charges for the minibar or laundry made the stay extra special. Breakfast was served in the central peaceful courtyard, the food was fantastic - a platter of fruit, homemade granola, rich preserves followed by hot food cooked to order. Our room was pool-free but large and spacious and flooded with light, plus we had access to the lovely pool in the courtyard. We were able to walk to several wineries from this location which was great. There is also now a "wine tram" in town that takes people around the wineries all day at a reasonable cost. Stay here, you won't be dissappointed. Amazing value and wonderful people.

Room Tip: We only saw our room which was translated as "the view", it was really lovely, great balco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mapua, Nelson
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

We booked a 3 night stay here on the recommendation of some local friends and we haven't been disappointed. We booked one of the b & b suites in the main house - Twyling A - which is very comfortable, with a brand new bathroom set in a conservatory added to the bedroom area. Hazel and the staff couldn't do enough for us with lots of help and suggestions of where to go locally. There are lots of inclusions: free wifi; laundry (what a bonus when travelling!); a bottle of bubbly; soft drinks; chocolates etc
We had breakfast in the courtyard area outside our room and both Hazel & Katherine were very attentive and professional in their hosting & anticipating guests likes $ dislikes.
We were slightly concerned that there didn't seem to be any off-street parking but were assured that the street is safe enough not to worry.
We would thoroughly recommend this boutique hotel to travellers seeking excellent quality and comfort.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guesthouse

Address: 5 Akademie Street | PO Box 275, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guesthouse 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Number of rooms: 6 suites. Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House in Franschhoek offers luxury five star accommodation in five unique buildings all situated on the same beautiful property in a quiet area of the village in the heart of the Cape wine lands. There are four swimming pools and four gardens. This hotel and guest house is in a quiet area within easy walking distance to the restaurants. - Owner Managed ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.