We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Food but the Restaurant is Stuffy Beyond Belief” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Haute Cabriere Tasting Room

Haute Cabriere Tasting Room
Pass Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
27 (021) 876 8500
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 39 Activities in Franschhoek
Type: Wineries, Food & Drink
Activities: Wine tasting
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Situated on the slopes of the Franschhoek Mountains, Haute Cabriere – The Home of Pierre Jourdan - specialises in still wines and Cap Classiques produced exclusively from Chardonnay and Pinot Noir. The Tasting Room offers visitors a personal introduction to its wines through cellar tours and tastings, in English, Afrikaans, Geman or French. Next door, Haute Cabriere Restaurant treats guests to the “True Marriage of Food and Wine” with a menu that revolves around the family-owned estate’s wines.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Delicious Food but the Restaurant is Stuffy Beyond Belief”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We ate here for lunch and I've never felt more uncomfortable in a restaurant. The food was genuinely spectacular, but the self-satisfied air of the staff and the feel of the place means it's not relaxing. La Petite Ferme further up the road is a country mile more enjoyable - with food that's equal or better.

I would also warn you that they 'decorated' a desert with nuts but did not indicate in the menu this was a dish that had nuts on. Consequently, as my partner is allergic to nuts, we were forced to finish our meal ten minutes apart, with very little apology offered.

Imagine a place where Piers Morgan is the target customer.....this is it.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin494, Public Relations Manager at Haute Cabriere Tasting Room, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear Sir,

We are sorry to hear that your experience at Haute Cabrière was not what you expected. Our destination prides itself in creating what we call the “true marriage of food and wine” - which is meant to be a joyful and fun-filled event. Wine is about sharing, entertaining and relaxing, so we would like to extend our invitation to you to visit us again when you are in Franschhoek so that we can show you a different side to the experience, which will be more in line with the true reflection of Haute Cabrière's philosophy.

Regarding your comment about the indication of allergens (specifically nuts) on the menu: This is something we do take very seriously, and we subsequently have cross-checked all our menu items to see whether they are accurately reflected on the menu. It turned out are all correctly specified, so it may have been that the notice was not clear enough. As a consequence, we have changed the layout of our menu to improve the visibility of dishes that contain nuts, and/or dishes that are vegetarian.

We hope to welcome you at Haute Cabrière again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Ryan Shell
(Head Chef)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    30
    8
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Somerset West, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Haute Cabriere.....Must not Miss!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Wife loves Haute Cabriere Cardonnay Pinot Noir, so we took a trip out to Franschhoek via the Franschhoek pass(amazing pass not to be missed while visiting Franschhoek) to find this magical estate. Hidden in the mountain side in specially built underground cellars, this is a unique estate with spectacular views of Franschhoek. The Sparkling wines are of high standards and service is professional and of a joyous nature. Do not miss out on this Estate while visiting Franschhoek!! Cellar tour and restuarant were closed because of public holiday and the restuarant is closed on Mondays. So we shall return for the tour and dinning experience in the near future.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Saturday Night Diner and Monday Wine tasting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

What a beautiful venue and an exquisite dinner venue! Situated on the side of the Franschhoek mountain, just off of the pass, sits this awesome stone and cement cellar. Do yourself a favour and partake in the winetasting on offer. Such knowleable staff and a totally relaxed atmosphere, no rush just relaxed attention to detail. The main restaurant is adjacent to the wine cellar and is so worth a visit if Fine Dining is your thing... Dont forget to leave with a bottle or two of their Haute Cabriere Pinot Nior 2008 !!!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Cellar Tour was great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We took an 11am cellar tour at Haute Cabriere and it was the perfect start to our day in Franschhoek. A great tour with good explanations - never felt rushed and a learned a lot. Ended with a wonderful tasting and out tour guide even sabered a bottle of methode cap clasique for us to watch and then taste. At only $12 or so for both of us this was a great value, too.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great view and place to drink wine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

The view from the tasting area is great and the champagne was fantastic, the service of the staff was attentive but not intrusive and they knew their wines. A nice place to stop and have a sundowner !

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Haute Cabriere Tasting Room also viewed

Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 

Been to Haute Cabriere Tasting Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Haute Cabriere Tasting Room, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.