We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a beautiful hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mont Rochelle

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Mont Rochelle to your Saves list
Mont Rochelle
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dassenberg Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa (Formerly La Couronne Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bristol
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“a beautiful hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2008

The Mont Rochelle hotel is located a few minutes drive from the town centre and is in the middle of beautiful vineyards.

The hotel is beautiful. The thatched roof, gardens and views are absolutely stunning.

The service is professional and friendly but slightly impersonal.
Our room was great. A good size, very comfortable with a lovely balcony overlooking the vineyards.

We didn't eat dinner at the hotel but breakfast was the best we had during our South Africa trip.

The only real disappointment was the spa. The sauna was not turned on so if you wanted to use it you had to wait 30 minutes for it to heat up and the jacuzzi was freezing!

I would definitely stay here again for a luxurious stay.

  • Liked — the breakfast and the gardens
  • Disliked — the spa
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    52
    12
    11
    4
See reviews for
22
158
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2008

Mont Rochelle is fairly well located in Franschoek. The hotel is nice and not massive but I found it slightly dated decor-wise. Nonetheless it was clean and the breakfast was good. The Mont Rochelle winery is not the best one in Franschoek but worth a look and taste if you are staying at the hotel (although you do still hae to pay for it).
I would recommend this hotel, perhaps more so for seniors or tourists than for honeymooners.

  • Liked — breakfast
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2008

The hotel is set on a vineyard just behind Franschoek and has beautiful surroundings. On our arrival, we were given a glass of wine and we spent a bit of time relaxing in front of the log fire, ignoring the rain outside.

The room itself was beautiful with the finishing touches you would expect from 5-star accommodation - robes, mini-bar, nice toiletries, underfloor heating - great in the morning when you jumped out of bed!

As the hotel is just outside of town you would have to drive or take a taxi to eat in the town. As we were only staying two nights, we ate in the restaurant in the hotel one night and in the more casual restaurant on the vineyard the other night. Both were great meals. The food in the main restaurant was just stunning and there were additional amuse-bouche courses which were a real treat. Only tiny criticism was that the restaurant was a little cold (and that's from a Scot!), but we loved the semi-circular room with windows looking over the vineyards.

When the sun came out on our final morning we were able to see the vineyard and pool and grounds in all their glory. Stunning surroundings. We would definitely go back!

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2008

What a great property. We arrived after a 12 hour flight and we seated in the lobby area which overlooks the vinyards and the mountains. Upon arrival we were given a very nice glass of wine and then escorted to our room. They have two restaurants both of which are very good. The staff were very friendly and the facilities were clean and very pleasant. We used their bikes and went into town, which is only a few minutes away. Great down hill, but a bit of a challenge ridding back up the hill.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexley Kent
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2008

The general feel of Mont Rochelle is one of belonging. We were welcomed with a glass of excellent wine and sat down in front of what is without doubt a scene of serene beauty. Our room, a shiraz, was large and well appointed, beautifully clean had a wonderful view. The restaurant had some divine cuisine; the degustation menu was sublime with selected wines from the estate. The wine tasting is carried out in another building and were chauffeured there by the management. Thanks to Maton, we booked a great wine tasting trip on horseback (or rather they booked it for us) and an excellent lunch at la Petite Ferme, and the taxi took us there, picked us up and drove us to town, waited an hour while we shopped and then drove us back. For £10.

The little things, attention to detail, were what set Mont Rochelle apart, putting a cold bottle of water beside your bed while you sat in the bar at night or setting out the tv and the tv guide, to the correct day, with the remote in place and the tv on standby. Nods and smiles from all the staff, a warm family feeling. One not to be missed on a trip to SA, will return and recommend to all.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2008

We spent three nights at Mont Rochelle in October 2008. The hotel is located on a hill overlooking the valley, and the views are truly spectacular. We booked a pinotage suite and were very impressed by the room. It was quite large, with a lovely bathroom, two small balconies, lots of light and great views. Breakfasts on site were wonderful, both the buffet and hot options. We did not eat at the hotel restaurant for dinner despite repeated offers from the staff, but only because we had just three nights in the area and had pre-selected some other restaurants we wanted to try. The grounds of the hotel were lovely and the pool area was nice, if fairly small. We also made use of the exercise facilities, which were great for a hotel of this size.

Our only complaint about the hotel was that the staff members apparently do not communicate very well with each other. While they were almost without exception exceedingly kind to us, there were two issues that were a bit frustrating. First, we had pre-booked a horseback wine tasting through the hotel (at their suggestion) over a month in advance, but when we inquired about it the evening we arrived we were told no arrangements had been made. The staff on duty the next morning offered to try and book for us (at that point it was a same day booking), but admonished us that we really should have booked in advance - a frustrating response when that is exactly what they were supposed to have done for us. They made the arrangements for us that afternoon, and when we arrived at the stables they were somewhat confused because it turned out the hotel had actually booked us twice, but apparently kept no record of having made the original booking! Aside from the hassles of booking, the ride and wine tastings were a lovely, unusual experience that we enjoyed very much. The second communication mishap occurred during check out. The evening before we asked the night staff if we could have a late checkout and we were told no problem, we just had to be out of the room by 1 pm. At about noon the morning staff member placed an irritated call to our room asking if they could please come help us with our bags. When I explained we were not ready yet because the evening staff approved a late check out until 1, she was audibly upset and told me a late check out was not possible. We rushed to get our things together (we were leaving for our flight home after 2 plus weeks away that evening and thus the packing was a bit of an ordeal) and when we checked out 15 minutes later, she was again very cold when we tried to explain that we cleared the late check out with the evening staff. There was no apology for the inconvenience or the miscommunication. Instead we were apologizing to her. It was a shame this happened as we left the hotel, because it marred what was otherwise a very nice stay. That said, if we return to Franschhoek we will most certainly stay at Mont Rochelle again, though we will be sure to re-confirm anything of importance communicated to us by a staff member.

  • Liked — Lovely room, great views
  • Disliked — A few staff communication issues
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2008

We spent three nights here and enjoyed the town, the local restaurants and the vineyards. The hotel is lovely, as are the views. But there are some short comings. The pool is very cold, as another reviewer mentioned. We were their in the Fall and the days were warm and comfortable, but swimming was like being in the Arctic. The dining room is very posh, as are the meals. A bit too posh and formal for us, so we took the remainder of our meals at local restaurants. The 'spa' facilities also left much to be desired. The jacuzi was filled with cold water and broken and the sauna was under repair.
Now, all that being said, we still had a wonderful time. The hotel is part of a local vineyard that produces a lovely rose, which was delightful. The hostess was charming and appeared from time to time to ask if we needed anything. The hotel itself is lovely and the rooms were well appointed; comfortable beds, lovely linens and excellent climate control. The hotel vineyard isn't particularly special, but their menu is very good. All in all I would recommend the hotel, with a few reservations, as I've mentioned.

  • Liked — The rooms and the restaurant at their vineyard.
  • Disliked — The Pool was horrendously cold.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mont Rochelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mont Rochelle

Address: Dassenberg Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa (Formerly La Couronne Hotel)
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Franschhoek
#5 Family Hotel in Franschhoek
#6 Luxury Hotel in Franschhoek
#6 Romantic Hotel in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mont Rochelle 5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sir Richard Branson's South African Hotel and Vineyard is excited to welcome its very first guests to uncover the delights of Franschhoek's hidden gem. Having undergone an extensive refurbishment, Mont Rochelle now boasts a brand new spa with a Hammam, a heated pool, 22 beautifully refurbished bedrooms and a new restaurant, Miko, named after previous owner, Miko Rwayitare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mont Rochelle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mont Rochelle Franschhoek
Hotel Mont Rochelle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mont Rochelle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.