We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mont Rochelle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Mont Rochelle to your Saves list
Mont Rochelle
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dassenberg Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa (Formerly La Couronne Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Franschhoek
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Pleasant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

This review is a little overdue - we stayed at Mont Rochelle back in July, but I just never got around to writing the review. We stayed at three other hotels while we were in South Africa and unfortunately this was our least favorite of the trip.

I will start off by saying that we stayed there during the winter season, and the hotel felt nearly deserted. This wasn't necessarily a bad thing, but it did make the place seem a little eerie at times. Also - not sure if he was the manager, but there was a gentleman who checked us in and was otherwise generally responsible for taking care of hotel guests. There was something off about him, and he constantly tried to push us to have dinner at the hotel which I found to be very annoying and unprofessional.

My biggest problem was the room. It seemed like a generic and somewhat dated hotel room. For the price, I was expecting more. Aside from the view, there was just nothing special about it.


I will say, however, that the complimentary breakfast was very enjoyable. Also, it was nice to enjoy a complimentary glass of wine during the check-in process, which takes place in front of a cozy fire. Other than these two perks, I found our overall experience to be quite average.

Franschhoek is a beautiful town and we had a great time wine tasting, eating, and taking in the gorgeous scenery. But I just wasn't blown away by Mont Rochelle and wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    43
    9
    10
    4
See reviews for
18
132
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Horsham sussex
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We had an upgraded room which was very nice and well appointed. The breakfasts were amazing but did feel that the dinners were slightly overpriced but excellent. It was the one place we found the wine really expensive in the restaurant compared with the cost of it in the vineyard.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

This is a stunning establishment with fabulous staff, incredible rooms and adornments, magnificent view, superb vineyard but serves overpriced and mediocre food for dinner, nuveau cuisine gone wrong. The breakfast on the other hand was incredible starting with bubbly and orange juice followed by the most attractive selection of breakfast fare I have ever seen, legendary!!! Although there is not a lot to do on the property a visit to their alternative Country Kitchen Restaurant set among the vineyards is worth while for a wine tasting. The wines are superb. The village is nearby and as the food capital of South Africa, Franchoek is home to some legendary eateries, but beware, some are ostentatious and hugely overpriced.

Room Tip: Room 12 was very good!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Mont Rochelle on our honeymoon in August 2012. Tthe hotel is slightly outside of Franshoek but they will run you into the town in their own car for a small charge in the evening. The breakfast in the hotel may well be one of the best I've ever had and the food in the evening was very good and excellent value. My only compliant was that the decor of the room, although of a high standard, was a bit bizzare and not really inkeeping with the feel of thee region. But the great view from the room more than made up for this. We booked a tour of the vinyards through the hotel and our guide, who worked along with his wife, was very knowledgeable.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We visited South Africa for our honeymoon and could not have chosen a better destination. We knew very little about the wine region and had read that we should visit the Stellenbosch region. Our travel agent suggested we stay in Franschhoek and we are so glad we did. Mont Rochelle was absolutely beautiful. We were there in May (which is Fall) and the changing leaves, mountains and vines provide a dramatic and romantic landscape. I could not get enough of the view from our terrace. Our room was wonderful and the service was great. We even were able to plant an olive tree with our name on it. Mont Rochelle's wine was not my favorite (try La Petite Ferme) but everything else was perfect. We knew our safari would be wonderful but had no idea how great our trip to Franschhoek would be. We will definitely be back to Mont Rochelle in the future!

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Fantastic country pampering at this pretty thatched cottage hotel. Hotel has there own vineyard/ winery and u can take there bikes over to it...which proves interesting after wine tasting/drinking!
Delicious food in country kitchen. Friendly & helpful staff. Outstanding service. Room service excellent. Spotlessly clean. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

great property, nice location but room poorly maintained, poor cleanliness in the room and particularly in the bathroom as well, since the rate is not cheap would pretend more, not a bad experience but will not be back. not good value for money

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mont Rochelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mont Rochelle

Address: Dassenberg Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa (Formerly La Couronne Hotel)
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Franschhoek
#6 Family Hotel in Franschhoek
#6 Luxury Hotel in Franschhoek
#6 Romantic Hotel in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mont Rochelle 5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sir Richard Branson's South African Hotel and Vineyard is excited to welcome its very first guests to uncover the delights of Franschhoek's hidden gem. Having undergone an extensive refurbishment, Mont Rochelle now boasts a brand new spa with a Hammam, a heated pool, 22 beautifully refurbished bedrooms and a new restaurant, Miko, named after previous owner, Miko Rwayitare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and South African Hotels so you can book your Mont Rochelle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mont Rochelle Franschhoek
Hotel Mont Rochelle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mont Rochelle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.