We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mont Rochelle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Mont Rochelle to your Saves list
Mont Rochelle
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dassenberg Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa (Formerly La Couronne Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Franschhoek
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Stunning place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

What a gorgeous hotel and vineyard Mont Rochelle is. We had a thoroughly enjoyable stay. From the room service, spa treatments, wine tasting and amazing food in Mange Tout for breakfast and dinner, we were well and truly spoilt on our honeymoon, with a few extra special touches thrown in too.

We had a great time.

Room Tip: Shiraz room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    43
    9
    10
    4
See reviews for
18
132
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Welwyn, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed here for one night on our way through, it was not a busy at the time but we had an excellent time. We stayed in one of the suits which were great rooms with an excellent view. The food in the restaurants was great and excellent value for money. We tried the wine tasting which was something we had not done before. The only thing we could find error in was the spa area the sauna etc were a bit cold but would go back if we were in the area

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Hallingbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Stop no. 2 on our honeymoon and I have to say it's one of nicest places I've stayed. I'm ashamed to say I knew nothing about Mont Rochelle before my arrival so it was a very nice surprise. Lovely setting and grounds, food was absolutely flawless (hats off o he chef!), great service as well. My wife is vegetarian and the staff were more than happy to cater for her needs, beats he usual odd look and a response of "we can do you risotto". Wine tasting was great and they also opened he cellar despite us arriving after the last tour had finished.

Breakfast was superb, the biggest selection I've seen. Hot breakfast from the menu was outstanding.

5 min drive to the town - which is lovely. If you visit the Winelands you must stay here!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Lunch on the terrace is a wonderful experience. Great service and a great menu. Two days a week be entertained by the resident pianist in a panoramic dining room with wonderful fittings and chandeliers. Food is excellent. We will be going again in Dec to one of our favourite places.. Don't miss.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Gorgeous setting looking through the valley, especially during Spring, with fresh colours and the light and shade of early mornings and evenings. Outstanding breakfast selection and an interesting set of fine dining options. Good wines including a range from their own estate. The staff were helpful, organising wine tours and providing taxi service back from Franschhoek. The room was enormous with underfloor heating. Also a large bathroom, which was a little tired (grouting in the shower needed work). Overall a very comfortable stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

My wife and i stayed at Mont Rochelle for 2 nights. The hotel has the most scenic setting coupled with pure luxury. The staff are friendly, professional, and exceed ever expectation. Food is outstanding and the wine top stars. I cannot wait to go back.

Room Tip: Highly highly recommend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed our 3 nights here. Level of service amazing. Food divine - champagne for breakfast. Turn down service a real bonus. They go the extra mile - wish we lived closer to go back for r&r on a regular basis.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mont Rochelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mont Rochelle

Address: Dassenberg Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa (Formerly La Couronne Hotel)
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Franschhoek
#6 Romantic Hotel in Franschhoek
#6 Family Hotel in Franschhoek
#6 Luxury Hotel in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mont Rochelle 5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sir Richard Branson's South African Hotel and Vineyard is excited to welcome its very first guests to uncover the delights of Franschhoek's hidden gem. Having undergone an extensive refurbishment, Mont Rochelle now boasts a brand new spa with a Hammam, a heated pool, 22 beautifully refurbished bedrooms and a new restaurant, Miko, named after previous owner, Miko Rwayitare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and South African Hotels so you can book your Mont Rochelle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mont Rochelle Franschhoek
Hotel Mont Rochelle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mont Rochelle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.