We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mont Rochelle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Mont Rochelle to your Saves list
Mont Rochelle
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dassenberg Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa (Formerly La Couronne Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Beautiful location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

Mont Rochelle is in a lovely spot, overlooking the valley but close to the town. The fire in the bar makes it very appealing. The rooms were very nice - with beautiful views.
The only disappointment was that the two nights we stayed the restaurant was closed but that meant we got to see other places, which was good.
We even tried the bicycles - easy going down to Franschhoek but much harder coming back!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_8, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your kind words and wonderful review! We are happy to hear that your stay was wonderful and pity your visit was during the closure days of our main restautant. We are sure that you would dine in the restaurant upon your next visit!

Till then, safe travels!

Kind regards

The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    52
    12
    11
    4
See reviews for
22
158
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

Go for lunch - always a good selection of lighter fare (salads, antipasta, etc) and more substantial entrees (risotto, spring bok, tuna)
Go with the recommended wine pairing. Weather permitting, ask for a table on the terrace to enjoy the unsurpassed views of the vineyards and Franschhoek Valley below.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_8, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your kind review in respect to our alternative restaurant on the Estate. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us!

Be sure to stop by again soon!

Kind regards

The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

Mont Rochelle was our first stay of our 3 week honeymoon and we couldn't have chosen a better place to start. We arrived early after an overnight flight from Heathrow to Cape Town and they couldn't have made us feel more welcome. We were seated in front of a roaring fire, supplied drinks while we waited for our room to be prepared... which only took 30min! The personal touches we received throughout our stay made the experience even more special, from the welcome card, the birthday card my husband came down to at breakfast the next morning, the complimentary shuttle service that runs you to which ever restaurant you want to try in town and collects you later, to planting an olive tree with a personalised plaque.

The staff were the most friendly and helpful of any people that we've met anywhere on our travels. They assisted us with everything, what to see and do, where to eat and they booked everything on our behalf, we really didn't have to lift a finger! The horse back wine tasting was brilliant fun and the views and wine were amazing, you really don't need to know how to ride, the horses are so well behaved!

We ate at Le Bon Vivant one night on the recommendation of the hotel, we went for the 5 course tasting menu with a different wine with every course and it was the best meal we have ever had and not expensive for the quailty and quantity of the food.

Both restaurants at Mont Rochelle were of an amazing standard, the wine was fantastic, the room was fabulous and the views were stunning. It's such a hidden gem and we have vowed that is one place that we will definitely return to. Anyone thinking of booking Mont Rochelle... Just do it you will not be disappointed!! We stayed 3 nights and only wish it had been more!

Room Tip: Pinotage suite was amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_8, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
Dear Reviewer

The Team thanks you for your kind words and wonderful review! Is is our utmost pleasure making your stay surpass your expectations! We pride ourselves on the "little" things and all our personal touches during your stay is simply the Team doing what they do best!

We trsut that we would welcome you back again soon!, Till then, safe travels.....

Kind regards
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria b.c.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed the lovely suite overlooking the valley. The service was terrific, the pianist at dinner was excellent and the food was 5 star.

Room Tip: Suite 30 overlooking the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_8, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your review and we are happy to hear that your stay was wonderful. Thank you for commenting on our restaurant and food, we appriciate your kind words.

We hope to welcome you back very soon. Till then safe travels!
Kind regards

The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

We stayed at Mont Rochelle for 2 nights and would not hesitate to recommend to anyone spending a few days in Franschhoek. Dinner at Mange Tout is a treat and breakfasts are superb! Fresh fruits, pastries, french toast, pancakes, freshly baked breads and muffins ... the list is endless and all presented beautifully. The staff are welcoming and nothing is too much trouble for them. The weather was chilly and the fire in the dining area was a welcome treat. All round a relaxing, highly enjoyable experience. Thank you!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_8, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this review, October 9, 2011
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your kind words!

The Team prides itself on our offerings and experiences, thus making your stay so wonderful. Our home is your home and thus we are happy to hear that you had such a wonderful stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon, until then, safe travels...

Kind regards
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerrards Cross, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

We stayed for two nights on our honeymoon. I can only say this is possibly one of the best hotels I have stayed at anywhere in the world!!

The hotel is set just outside the town on a working vineyard and offers amazing breath taking, words can not describe views of the valley and mountains.

The rooms are fantastic luxurious and amazing attention to detail with lovely molton brown cosmetics. The views from the bedrooms are also amazing.

The staff are more than fantastic they are all world class; friendly helpful and welcoming and so happy! The manager Sean is present and was very helpful in organising a schedule for us in the winelands and also very welcoming.

I can only describe this hotel as a home away from home.

Many hotels i have stayed at try and become a home away from home, but this is the only hotel in my view which actually achieves it!!

Finally make sure you eat at the mange tout restaurant we had a 3 course a la carte meal which turned into a 5 course meal and was absolutely fantastic. It is one of the best meals we had in south Africa. Also make sure you take time to hike around the vineyard we did a great hike up to the hill next to the hotel which was lovely and also visit the wine cellar at tasting at the country kitchen.

To summarise then you can't go wrong with this hotel, fantastic setting views, amazing amazing staff, luxurious rooms and an amazing restaurant. We are already working out when we can visit again and we only left a few days ago!!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_8, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this review, October 9, 2011
Dear Reviewer
The Team wishes to thank you for your kind words and review.

It is our utmost pleasure treating our Guests and ensuring that our home is your home aswell. The special touches we bring unannouced to our Guests lets the Team show off their pride within their workplace, thus they are more than happy to assist where possible.

We hope to welcome you back very soon and until then, safe travels...

Kind regards
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

My wife and I enjoyed our stay at Mont Rochelle thoroughly. We took advantage of a special advertised on the Internet and were not disappointed.

The warm welcome on arrival, together with a complementary flute of Graham Beck MMC set the tone for what was to be a memorable experience. Room facilities were superb and the attention to detail in everything laid credence to their 5 star pedigree.

Dinner at Mange Tout was superb, the piano accompaniment was a nice touch too. We opted for the 3-course menu, which turned out to be a 7-course: appetiser, starter, palate cleanser, main, pre-dessert, dessert, sweets. This also included a glass of Mont Rochelle red or white wine.

As a romantic getaway, it does not get much better than this. The extra touches and friendly service make you want to return as soon as possible!

My only regret was not being able to spend another night there. You need at least one full day to experience all that Mont Rochelle, and Franschhoek, have to offer.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_8, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this review, October 9, 2011
Dear Reviewer
Thank you for your kind comments and wonderful words. We are happy to hear that your special occassion was that much more special because of all the smaller touches we offer. The Team strives to not only have you enjoy your stay, but also have memorable moments to last a life time.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!
Until then, safe travels.
Kind regards

The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mont Rochelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mont Rochelle

Address: Dassenberg Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa (Formerly La Couronne Hotel)
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Franschhoek
#5 Family Hotel in Franschhoek
#6 Romantic Hotel in Franschhoek
#6 Luxury Hotel in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mont Rochelle 5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sir Richard Branson's South African Hotel and Vineyard is excited to welcome its very first guests to uncover the delights of Franschhoek's hidden gem. Having undergone an extensive refurbishment, Mont Rochelle now boasts a brand new spa with a Hammam, a heated pool, 22 beautifully refurbished bedrooms and a new restaurant, Miko, named after previous owner, Miko Rwayitare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mont Rochelle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mont Rochelle Franschhoek
Hotel Mont Rochelle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mont Rochelle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.