We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top rate all the way” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Franschhoek Country House & Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Franschhoek Country House & Villas to your Saves list
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Main Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Kent
1 review
“Top rate all the way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2010

Elegant and relaxing with spacious room. Beautiful public rooms and gardens and a high standard of service all round. Check the egg florentine for breakfast!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    388
    109
    29
    7
    5
See reviews for
56
369
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sussex
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights in November. We had 2 rooms on the ground floor of an annexe next to the main house with a vast sitting room with music, sherry and magazines at our disposal. The staff were friendly and helpful. The pool area was well kept with towels and loungers freely available.Breakfast was served upstairs in the main house overlooking the garden with tables inside or outside on the balcony and consisted of a vast array of fruit,pastries, bread, cold meats, cheeses,yoghurts,cereals and a choice of cooked dishes. We chose to eat there the first night and had an excellent meal. The next day we had lunch at La Petite Ferme restaurant in the nearby winery which was superb with spectacular views. Consequently we didn't need much to eat that evening but the hotel was more than happy for us just to have a starter and dessert in the retaurant. The hotel is just outside the village which we preferred and it was just a 10 minute walk away. WE didn't go there in the evenings but a shuttle was available if we had wanted to. Free internet access in the main house. A great 2 night stay!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham North Wales
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2010

We stayed for two nights and wished we'd opted for three. The manager was friendly and helpful as were all the staff. We had booked a luxury room, but were delighted to have been upgraded to a villa suite. This definitely had the wow factor! We also had dinner in the hotel restaurant and the food was among the best we had during our three weeks in South Africa. Having read previous negative reviews I am at a loss to understand why they were written. Please do not hesitate to book this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascot
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2010

From the entrance ,the resort does not look like much but it is only when you are given the tour by one of the lovey staff through to your rooms that you get the sense that this place is special. We had a downstairs standard room overlooking the pool area. It was quiet and the rooms were of a very high standard. Our friends had a villa suite which looked amazing. We dined in the Country House restuarant and the meal and service was superb. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We vowed to come back and stay a few days here - one night was not enought !

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westport, CT
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2010

I had concerns regarding a few past negative reviews from people staying in the standard room. I think these reviews said more about the authors than the hotel which I found to be excellent. Stayed for 3 nights over Christmas in a standard room at 1990Rand per night. The room was adequately sized and had a small terrace with table and chairs and a bathroom with a good shower stall and separate tub. Comfortable bed with beautiful linens. The road does pass the front of the hotel, but is quite some distance away and on the other side of a masonary wall. I noticed no road noise or noise from the dining room below. There is no smoking in the entire building. Our final night was in a deluxe room at 2590 Rand per night. A substantially larger room with a seating area and larger bathroom. Terrace with views over the garden and pool. Again, superb beds and linen. Worth the extra, but go with the standard room if cost is an issue. The restaurant, Monneaux ,offers very good food at moderate prices. Service everywhere, from the pool to the restaurant to the housekeeping is excellent. A really well trainned, motivated staff. Computer available for guests in the lounge. Free shuttle to any restaurants in town - fast and efficient. Lovely gardens and 2 small pools. Excellent breakfast - the best of any hotel we visited during a 2 week stay in South Africa. This hotel is a great choice.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2009

Franschhoek is in the Cape winelands and our drive to the Franschhoek valley was an easy, 45 minutes from Cape Town. We were booked into a luxury room, but on arrival we were delighted to be upgraded to an large and opulent 'boudoir chic' villa Suite. Loved the cosy lounge with fireplace and relaxing on the loungers on our balcony. The bathroom deserves a special mention, it has a large standalone bath, a massive candlebra and speakers.
From check in to check out, all staff were very attentive and hospitable. Ben, Bev and Dianne stand out for making our stay most memorable. Monneaux Restaurant lived up to its fine dining reputation and we voted this one of our most enjoyable dinners, ever! It was encouraging to note that while this haute cuisine restaurant served beautifully presented fare, it was the generous portions that we have come enjoy, while in South Africa.
We spent a fair amount of time relaxing by the cool and heated pools. We liked that the lounges have complimentary decanters of sherry, the free internet and transfers into town are also a very nice touch! Franschhoek Country House is a most comfortable base to relax and explore the Cape Winelands.There are so many good features, the Franschhoek valley is cocooned by omni-prescent mountains with verdant vineyards at the foothills. The estate has countless water features, rambling roses and lavender leave a scented, Cape bouquet. These beautiful sights and scents are uplifting, food for the soul.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knysna, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2009

We had a simply wonderfult time at Franschhoek Country House. We stayed in the entry level standard rooms in the main building and it was just perfect with a lot of charm and character.

The manager showed us around and admittedly the other room types are more luxurious and especially the suites which is simply stunning and well worth the extra cost offering very good value for money.

The restaurant was the best we had in town compared to well known restaurants such as Rubens and Haute Cabriere (which was also good).

In the end the experience was made by the friendliness and helfullness of the management and staff. Although it is situated a few hundrede metres from main town they have a complimentary transfer service into town which works perfectly when going out for dinner

We cannot recommend this property highly enough!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Franschhoek Country House & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franschhoek Country House & Villas

Address: Main Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Franschhoek
#3 Family Hotel in Franschhoek
#5 Luxury Hotel in Franschhoek
#5 Romantic Hotel in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Franschhoek Country House & Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by enchanting vineyards and majestic mountains, this small Boutique hotel is set on the outskirts of the town of Franschhoek, in the Cape Winelands less than an hours drive from Cape Town. Offering a selection of standard, luxury, garden cottages and the exclusive villa suites. With a top rated award winning restaurant, guests can relax and enjoy the hospitality, laze at the pool, enjoy a massage or stroll on the world-renowned charming town of Franschhoek. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Franschhoek Country House & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franschhoek Country House & Villas Hotel Franschhoek
Franschhoek Country House And Villas
Franschhoek Country Hotel
Franschhoek Country Boutique Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Franschhoek Country House & Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.