We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay away from standard rooms” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Franschhoek Country House & Villas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Franschhoek Country House & Villas to your Saves list
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Main Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence 2014
USA
1 review
“Stay away from standard rooms”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2009

The standard rooms are in the same building as bar and lounge. The down stairs allows smoking and has a poorly ventilated fireplace. The result is smoke filled guest rooms that smell like a truck stop. Also the carpet and furniture are worn out. Bathroom shower is not high enough for anyone over 5' 3". Oh, and don't get me started on the plumbing -- gargling toilets --- Yuck!!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    388
    109
    29
    7
    5
See reviews for
56
369
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Northern Ireland
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
188 helpful votes 188 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2009

We spent 4 nights in a villa suite in the FCH on our recent stay in the Cape.
The accomodation was spacious but the setting was cramped and uninspiring. I didn't feel that the service was of a particularly high standard given the high price tag. A particular disappointment was our meal in the property's own Monneaux Restaurant. Apparently it used to produce many of the top chefs in Franschhoeck but it has obviously gone downhill in recent times. All in all, not good value for the money.

Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2009

Well situated for anyone wanting to be near excellent wine farms and golf courses and yet not right in the center of Franschhoek. The 'Villa's' have absolutely everything you need whilst we found the staff incredibly helpful. I had one of the best fillet steaks I've had in a while whilst the breakfasts are presented in a relaxed atmosphere catering for all your needs. Well worth a visit and recommended highly.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2009

One of the most amazing weekends of our lives!

From the moment we arrived, everything exceeded our expectations immensely!

We were upgraded from a luxury suite to one of the villa's (room 19), which was SUCH an awesome surprise. WOW! What a suite! BEAUTIFUL! Complete luxury!

The complimentary sparkling wine, the friendly/outstanding service at all times, the delivious dinner at Monneaux, were just a few of the things that made our stay so unbelievably special and memorable.

Thank you for such a beautiful time.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2009

During our 2-1/2 weeks in South Africa, the Franschoek was the most disappointing of all the places we stayed. The atmosphere is faux provencal, the location on the main road of the village was unappealing as well as noisy, and the staff, though friendly and well meaning, were essentially incapable of providing the most basic information. With so many wonderful places to stay in Franschoek, the Franschoek Country House is grotesquely overpriced and offers little value for your money.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, CI
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2009

Although the suites are a wonderful size the decoration hasnt been kept up to either inside or out.
When you book they ask if you want to reserve a table in their award winning restaurant because its often fully booked. If it was award winning that must have been ages ago beore the "renowned " chef had left.
The staff try hard but are let down by the lack of mainteance and very average - no below average restaurant.
The redeeming feature was that they were quite happy for us to keep our room until 5pm before leaving for an overnight flight.
The shuttle into town was very good
By the way dont assume you can get a decent meal at Capetown International airport. Our flight left at 11pm and pre boarding all we could get was a cheese sandwich.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2009

We cannot emphasise enough how delighted we were. The hotel, facilities and restaurant were all of an excellent standard. The provision of a shuttle for use of guests is a particularly good touch. The staff were particularly welcoming, attentive, helpful and nothing was too much trouble. They helped to create a very relaxing atmosphere. The waiters were diligent, the reception staff incredibly helpful. We would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Franschhoek Country House & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franschhoek Country House & Villas

Address: Main Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Franschhoek
#3 Family Hotel in Franschhoek
#5 Luxury Hotel in Franschhoek
#5 Romantic Hotel in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Franschhoek Country House & Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by enchanting vineyards and majestic mountains, this small Boutique hotel is set on the outskirts of the town of Franschhoek, in the Cape Winelands less than an hours drive from Cape Town. Offering a selection of standard, luxury, garden cottages and the exclusive villa suites. With a top rated award winning restaurant, guests can relax and enjoy the hospitality, laze at the pool, enjoy a massage or stroll on the world-renowned charming town of Franschhoek. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Franschhoek Country House & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franschhoek Country House And Villas
Franschhoek Country House & Villas Hotel Franschhoek
Franschhoek Country Hotel
Franschhoek Country Boutique Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Franschhoek Country House & Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.