We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Franschhoek!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Franschhoek Country House & Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Franschhoek Country House & Villas to your Saves list
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Main Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Fort Worth
1 review
“Fantastic Franschhoek!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2008

September 22, 2008



Dear Mr. Jean Pierre Snyman,

Several months ago I booked four accommodations at your facility. We knew nothing about Franschhoek Country House & Villas, other than your web-site. I should have known what would be awaiting me from the cordial reception from your reservations clerks. Absolutely superb.

However, the real thing, 3 phenomenal days – (2 villa suites, 1 cottage & 1 regular room) still has us talking.

You are truly 5 Star. I have traveled to Africa 80+ times, the rest of the group, many times but to a lesser extent. We all agreed . . . never have we stayed in a better facility in Africa and most of us could not recall better accommodations that your 2 villa suites we reserved.

Most importantly, the service, friendliness, from all of your staff was simply over the top. The minute we requested something . . . it arrived in minutes, literally.

As a world traveler, you are to be congratulated for the attention to detail that makes Franschhoek Country House & Villas so unique. Please advise if you ever come to Dallas/Fort Worth, Texas as we would love to take you to a first class restaurant.

On behalf of all the couples who stayed with you – a big Texas Thanks!

Sincerely,



Tom Mantzel
President
Zelli Shoes

  • Liked — Phenomenal - every type Garden Room, Villa, Suite
  • Disliked — Couldn't stay longer - like months & months or years!
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    388
    109
    29
    7
    5
See reviews for
56
369
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Phoenixville, Pennsylvania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2008

My wife and I stayed at Franschhoek for two nights during our two week trip last November to South Africa. With the wonderful guidance of our travel agent, Robyn at GO2Africa, we had a wonderful stay here. We were upgraded when we arrived and had a beautiful suite. The dinner we had the first night was excellent and would recommend the location.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLAYA DEL REY
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Franschoek Country House in October 2007, and were blown away by how gorgeous it was. We booked a standard room, and were lucky that it was slow season, because we got upgraded to an absolutely beautiful suite. The grounds are spectacular, the restaurant was wonderful, and the staff were very attentive. This was one of our favorite stops in South Africa, and we still talk about it. We will be back!

  • Liked — peaceful and serene; very relaxing
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moraira, Spain
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2008

This was the 2nd stop on our honeymoon after leaving Cape Town, and because we'd stayed somewhere so amazing there, my expectations were high. I was a little disappointed when we arrived here. Reception staff were friendly enough - but a little "off" - not rude, and I can't put my finger on it - but just a little more corporate than I was expecting. We had booked a villa suite and to be honest the complex seemed a bit like a Disney village to us! (And not in a good way!)

The suite was huge, and had an electric fireplace, underfloor heating, and music in every room; the bathroom was big, with a large bath and separate shower; and the bed was very comfortable. But the decor was a little dated. Everything was clean, but there were no individual touches - it all seemed a bit "business hotel" with no atmosphere.

The staff were fantastic - the hotel driver took us into town both nights (literally a 2 minute drive) for which there was no charge, which was a nice touch.

Breakfast was amazing though - a huge buffet with home baked breads, excellent quality smoked salmon and meats, cheeses with fruit confit, and an incredible array of fruit platters, plus a cooked breakfast - either the daily special or cooked to order.

We sat in the Villa Suites lounge one morning after breakfast reading the paper by the fire, waiting for the rain to stop, which was cosy.

However, I wouldn't stay here again - there was nothing wrong with FCH, but for the money, and if you're looking for a more intimate/unique experience, try a different guesthouse.

  • Liked — Spacious room, great staff
  • Disliked — Lack of atmosphere; business hotel feel to the room
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2008

Great hotel and good base for the winelands.

I would recommend the restaurant in the hotel along with the wine tour that the hotel can arrange for you.

Our only issue was with the bedrooms standard of finish. Our room (garden cottage) felt tired and would benefit from a refurb. The shower head leaked, paint looked a bit tatty and the hair dryer which stopped working in a puff of smoke on our second day there (to name a few).

On the plus side, the hotel is walking distance (30 mins) from the town centre although there is a free transfer service for guests.

The staff were incredibly helpful and I'm sure in a more modern room we would have rated this hotel as 5 stars.

  • Liked — Everything outside the room
  • Disliked — The finish inside the room - a real shame as it was otherwise very nice
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
223 helpful votes 223 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2008

I stayed here for two nights in early March. Booked a villa in the courtyard in the shadow of the vineyard-clad mountains. There were four rooms in my suite including a large drawing room, bedroom, changing room and a bathroom designed for giants. The cost was about Euro 275 a night (inclusive of buffet breakfast). The place was so palatial that you'd easily pay twice, if not thrice, the price for accommodation of equivalent standard in Europe.

On arrival, four of us sat in the shaded area in front of the hotel. It was covered by canvass and small water jets produced a steamy vapour which kept the atmosphere deliciously cool. They had a huge choice of local wines and we settled for two white vintages. They also served us a couple of complimentary trays of delicious canapes. Having travelled a long distance from Ireland a few days before, the Franschoek County House experience finally enabled us to chill out completely and imbibe the atmosphere of the winelands.

The villa overlooked a swimming pool, which was carefully shaded by trees to act as a wind break against the gusts which are common during Summer at the Cape. Although the bedding in most hotels worldwide has now reached levels of comfort unknown in the past, the bed in this place was right up there with the best. Breakfast is served on the first floor verandah of the hotel overlooking the mountains and the winelands. Very good coffee coupled with the usual combination of hot and cold dishes. Must confess that I will never grow to like the South African variation on a theme of sausages. Too Germanic for my tastes.

Only flaw with this place were the showers in the villas. They were mainly only able to produce cold water. But, given that the temperature was a comfortable 27 degrees, it was no hardship to have to take a refreshing cold shower every morning. You really knew you were alive after five minutes in the shower.

All in all, this place is in the five to six star category. Well worth a visit and a superb introduction to the wondrous place known as Franschoek, which has a eclectic mix of great restaurants and wineries.

Stayed March 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2008

Just a word of warning. We were looking forward to staying in a luxury suite for 2 nights after a week in Cape town before flying off to Sun City. Take a look at their web site at the Suites and you will see they are fantastic.
We got our confirmation from Travelbag, 2 nights in a Garden Suite. Upon arrival we were taken to the dingiest room I have ever been presented with. Dark, damp and I wouldn't have put my dog in there. I instantly asked to see the manager and showed him my voucher for a Garden Suite. "Aaah" he said, "this happens a lot. This is a Garden Lodge that we have re-named a Garden Suite, those Suites over their you think you have booked are actually Villa Suites"
To cut a long story short and after going around in circles we had to pay an extra R1,000 for 1 night in the suite we had booked and then move to a standard room the next day as they were full with a conference.
Just check if you want a suite then make sure they are "Villa Suites" or you too may be hugely dissapointed.

Apart from that, very nice hotel, good shuttle service, Book Reubens Restaurant in advance it was excellent. The hotel will arrange a private wine tour (3 hours is long enough) as the Vineyards are all adjacent and gets a bit samey.
2 nights here is adequate in my opinion.

  • Liked — Villa Suites
  • Disliked — Not getting 1!
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Franschhoek Country House & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franschhoek Country House & Villas

Address: Main Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Franschhoek
#3 Family Hotel in Franschhoek
#5 Luxury Hotel in Franschhoek
#5 Romantic Hotel in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Franschhoek Country House & Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by enchanting vineyards and majestic mountains, this small Boutique hotel is set on the outskirts of the town of Franschhoek, in the Cape Winelands less than an hours drive from Cape Town. Offering a selection of standard, luxury, garden cottages and the exclusive villa suites. With a top rated award winning restaurant, guests can relax and enjoy the hospitality, laze at the pool, enjoy a massage or stroll on the world-renowned charming town of Franschhoek. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Franschhoek Country House & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franschhoek Country House And Villas
Franschhoek Country House & Villas Hotel Franschhoek
Franschhoek Country Hotel
Franschhoek Country Boutique Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Franschhoek Country House & Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.