We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Little Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Franschhoek Country House & Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Franschhoek Country House & Villas to your Saves list
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Main Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Franschhoek
East London, South Africa
1 review
“A Little Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

A lovely little Tuscan experience in Franschhoek. Our room was spacious and tastefully decorated with all the necessary requirements. Service, food and location of the guest house were excellent too. Definitely worth another visit!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    347
    93
    26
    7
    5
See reviews for
51
328
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

My girlfriend and I spent a very enjoyable three nights here at the beginning of November. It was faultless form the moment we turned up and had a guided tour of the property right up until the moment we left and were given a room (at no extra charge) to get showered and changed in before heading to the airport in Cape Town. Everyone we came into contact with was friendly, the driver that the hotel organised to drive us for the day was brilliant and the food in the restaurant was amazing! I wouldn't hesitate to recommend staying here. Thank you.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

My husband and I married here twelve years ago and returned recently to show our ten year old daughter where we married. The property is even more beautiful and everything was just how we remembered it to be. The breakfast was lovely, the staff exceptional, pool area very enjoyable, and the Moneaux restaurant first rate. The staff even placed photos of our wedding, framed, in our villa!

Room Tip: Any room is great here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed for two nights while attending a wedding in Franschhoek. After arriving late at night, we were greeted by friendly staff and told that they had upgraded us to a suite.

The suite was spacious, with wonderful wardrobe space, a fireplace, lounge and big bathroom. The bed was huge and comfortable.

The hotel is centrally located and it was a quick ride to town. The pool facilities are a quiet haven and we spent the better part of our stay relaxing and enjoying the quiet. While there were were served lunch at the pool from the restaurant menu and it was delicious. Great wine list and menu and a table set up for us under a gorgeous tree so we could eat where we were.

The staff were helpful and went the extra mile. They allowed us a late check out at no additional cost and were helpful with all our queries. I'd recommend this for couples but would be happy to take my young son with us.

Room Tip: We were upgraded to the suite and having stayed there we would not stay in any other room in future...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights and had a lovely stay. The staff we found to be very helpful and polite and our room was very nice. Moneaux restaurant was excellent and very good service. In a great position especially when visiting wineries and the Main Street has lovely eateries and shops.would recommend

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

My wife and I spent three nights here after a business trio to Cape Town. The service accomodation and facilities were excellent. I would recommend the hotel to all whatever your reason for visiting. The restaurant is so good thee is no reason to eat elsewhere although out of curiousity you probably will-well done all concerned

Room Tip: All seemed quiet and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Seated in the beautiful wilderness of the West Cape Region, Franschhoek is like a picture from a story book of cultured wine lands. The Franschhoek Country House and Villas is in a perfect setting with its history of perfume making over a century ago. The atmosphere and service is of the standard of yesteryears, when the guest was treated as a houseguest, welcomed by the family. We are being treated like a royalty here and we love the accommodation of a villa, with two patios and a walk in closet. The views are over the vineyards and to the mountains. We will certainly return.

Room Tip: A villa with a view to the mountains or the village is recommended. The rooms in the old, main house...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Franschhoek Country House & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franschhoek Country House & Villas

Address: Main Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Franschhoek
#2 Family Hotel in Franschhoek
#4 Romantic Hotel in Franschhoek
#4 Luxury Hotel in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Franschhoek Country House & Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by enchanting vineyards and majestic mountains, this small Boutique hotel is set on the outskirts of the town of Franschhoek, in the Cape Winelands less than an hours drive from Cape Town. Offering a selection of standard, luxury, garden cottages and the exclusive villa suites. With a top rated award winning restaurant, guests can relax and enjoy the hospitality, laze at the pool, enjoy a massage or stroll on the world-renowned charming town of Franschhoek. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your Franschhoek Country House & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franschhoek Country House And Villas
Franschhoek Country House & Villas Hotel Franschhoek
Franschhoek Country Hotel
Franschhoek Country Boutique Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Franschhoek Country House & Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.