We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent winters evening” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Franschhoek Country House & Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Franschhoek Country House & Villas to your Saves list
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Main Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Franschhoek
Pretoria, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent winters evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stayed for one night and enjoyed it tremendously. Friendly staff, heated floors in large room, fireplace, the best bed linen...everything you can think of is inside your room. Lovely property close to town. Nice and relaxing evening
Nico van der Merwe

Room Tip: Room 22 - overlooking courtyard and pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    93
    26
    7
    5
See reviews for
51
328
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

This is a lovely property. Our check-in process was a little confusing as it appeared we didn't check in at the primary location. But once sorted out our bags were quickly taken to our room in the main building above the restaurant. It was a lovely corner room - very comfortable and nicely decorated. Only problem was you could hear noise from the restaurant below - chairs scraping and voices dimly. Dinner in the restaurant was lovely and breakfast each morning was terrific. Overall we enjoyed out stay here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krugersdorp, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We have stayed here many times in the past and the setting, rooms and services are exellent. However the maintenace needs to be improved since there are issues with broken cupboard handles, broken tiles, loose fittings etc that can create a bad and neglected image. The range of TV channels are also very limited for a 5 star establishment.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JPS101, Owner at Franschhoek Country House & Villas, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear reviewer, thank you for the constructive feedback. As we pride ourselves in the upkeep of the hotel, also having just completed the refurbishment all our luxury rooms, we regret if there were items that needed attention - please accept our apology. Please do get in contact with us as we would appreciate the detail. We are however happy to see you enjoyed the stay and thank you for your support
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We booked 3 rooms for a weekend just after my 60th birthday. Not 5 star, but our section was 4 star. Definitely overpriced for 4 star. (R12000 for the 3 rooms)
Service, dinner and breakfast - excellent.
For the same price i will most probably go somewhere else next time.
To summarise: 5 out of 10

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

What an impressive place to stay! Their website cannot possibly convey the charm, style and luxury of this well appointed and amazing country house. The rooms are stunning and comfortable with every amenity available. The food was exceptional and the staff were friendly and efficient. Thank you for the pleasant stay and I wish I could have stayed longer. Hope to return one day soon.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Great villa suite at Country House and Villas. Restaurant was ok - tasting menu paired with wines was very good. Breakfast buffet was great. Fireplace in room was just what was needed on winter evening. Villa room is very large. Free Internet restricted to 200MB. Somewhat overpriced for overall experience compared to other places we have stayed on our trip.

Room Tip: Room 17 has view into courtyard in front and onto another property at back. Not a real mountain view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, Connecticut
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

This was an unusual hotel in the best sense of the word. Rooms have a fireplace, heated floors and dimming lights in a garden like setting. The restaurant was very good and staff could not have been more helpful. A short walk into a small town without much to see was the only disappointment. Definitely worth staying at this charming location.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Franschhoek Country House & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franschhoek Country House & Villas

Address: Main Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Franschhoek
#3 Family Hotel in Franschhoek
#4 Romantic Hotel in Franschhoek
#5 Luxury Hotel in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Franschhoek Country House & Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by enchanting vineyards and majestic mountains, this small Boutique hotel is set on the outskirts of the town of Franschhoek, in the Cape Winelands less than an hours drive from Cape Town. Offering a selection of standard, luxury, garden cottages and the exclusive villa suites. With a top rated award winning restaurant, guests can relax and enjoy the hospitality, laze at the pool, enjoy a massage or stroll on the world-renowned charming town of Franschhoek. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your Franschhoek Country House & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franschhoek Country House And Villas
Franschhoek Country House & Villas Hotel Franschhoek
Franschhoek Country Hotel
Franschhoek Country Boutique Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Franschhoek Country House & Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.