We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just as everyone says - excellent place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Franschhoek Country House & Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Franschhoek Country House & Villas to your Saves list
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Main Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Franschhoek
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Just as everyone says - excellent place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We arrived very tired after a long drive, and the excellent staff made us feel right at home. Our car was parked, and bags taken up to our room.

Lovely bedroom and bathroom, shared sitting room, good food, pleasant and helpful staff. We spent an afternoon by the pools (one heated, one not) enjoying a break from being good tourists. We enjoyed the tasting menu in the restaurant: five courses, each with its own wine.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    347
    93
    26
    7
    5
See reviews for
51
328
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Franschhoek is wonderful town to visit for all the reasons given in other reviews and the tourist guides. But at Christmas it bites off more than it can chew.

If you want to eat you MUST book your restaurants in advance. Getting a meal on Christmas Day evening is almost impossible because half the restaurants are closed and the other half over-booked. So book before you arrive.

For our Christmas lunch we had booked well in advance at this hotel where we stayed for three nights. The menu at Rand 395 was good value and looked tasty (though not traditional). But a series of small oversights - a promised glass of champagne not delivered until prompted, no wine offered, a sorbet course missed, lengthy inter-course waits, an interminable delay for coffee - turned our festive fun into a bit of a nightmare. The normally overly-attentive Maitresse D' - at a previous meal she had asked us three times before the first course arrived whether everything was ok! - failed to get a grip and didn't manage her serving team at all well on their busiest day.

So Christmas was a bit of a let-down.

To be fair though - they didn't charge us for the lunch and recognised their short-comings so hats off to them for that.

The room was pleasant without being spectacular. The facilities perfectly adequate. The breakfasts good and the other meals we had there (three of them) fine - except room service, where the choice is extremely limited.

Because of their very positive response to our poor Christmas lunch, we may well give them another try but I think this is considered the Number 1 hotel in Franschhoek by Trip Advisor reviewers and, I'm afraid, for us it did not live up to its billing.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JPS101, Owner at Franschhoek Country House & Villas, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for your constructive feedback and our apologies once again for the service issues during the very busy Christmas Day lunch. We look forward to welcoming you back in future and ensuring your stay is perfect in all aspects.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

A truly lovely place to sty with very friendly and helpful staff, eager to please and they do. Beautifully appointed rooms and a very good restaura too. A complimentary shuttle in town was very helpful. Recommended and will return

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for two nights in December... to say it was marvellous would be an understatement. Our villa was gorgeous, the entire suite was clean and a decent size. We ate at the restaurant at the hotel one night and the food was awesome. Franschoek is one of the most beautiful parts of our fabulous country and anyone visiting there is truly priviledged..... Ian and Sally Smith

Room Tip: We choose a villa suite .. which was large and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We stayed here for a couple of nights whilst touring round SA, we upgraded ourselves to a villa as the standard room was a little dark, the villa was beautiful. Huge bathroom and very comfortable. We are in the resterant and chose the taster menue with wines which was superb. The staff were lovely and very helpful. Franschoek is a beautiful town, great shopping and very friendly. I would highly recomend this hotel and thank you.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

My wife and I had an excellent three night stay at Franschhoek Country House & Villas during a two week trip through South Africa. Staff was very friendly and always ready to accommodate any requests. The adjoining Monneaux Restaurant was the best dinner during our entire South Africa trip and the best filet I every had in my life. Only downside is that some road noise could be noticed from inside the grounds since the property is located directly off the main road to town.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Room was extremely nice although unfortunately ours did not look out onto the hills and bathroom a little small. We were on a long trip to South Africa so found the storage space in the room a little limited. Breakfasts were amazing and the staff could not have been more helpful and friendly. The complimentary shuttle was a real bonus in the evenings.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Franschhoek Country House & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franschhoek Country House & Villas

Address: Main Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Franschhoek
#2 Family Hotel in Franschhoek
#4 Romantic Hotel in Franschhoek
#4 Luxury Hotel in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Franschhoek Country House & Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by enchanting vineyards and majestic mountains, this small Boutique hotel is set on the outskirts of the town of Franschhoek, in the Cape Winelands less than an hours drive from Cape Town. Offering a selection of standard, luxury, garden cottages and the exclusive villa suites. With a top rated award winning restaurant, guests can relax and enjoy the hospitality, laze at the pool, enjoy a massage or stroll on the world-renowned charming town of Franschhoek. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your Franschhoek Country House & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franschhoek Country House And Villas
Franschhoek Country House & Villas Hotel Franschhoek
Franschhoek Country Hotel
Franschhoek Country Boutique Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Franschhoek Country House & Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.