We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Franschhoek Country House & Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Franschhoek Country House & Villas to your Saves list
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Main Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Franschhoek
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

A truly lovely place to sty with very friendly and helpful staff, eager to please and they do. Beautifully appointed rooms and a very good restaura too. A complimentary shuttle in town was very helpful. Recommended and will return

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    347
    93
    26
    7
    5
See reviews for
51
328
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for two nights in December... to say it was marvellous would be an understatement. Our villa was gorgeous, the entire suite was clean and a decent size. We ate at the restaurant at the hotel one night and the food was awesome. Franschoek is one of the most beautiful parts of our fabulous country and anyone visiting there is truly priviledged..... Ian and Sally Smith

Room Tip: We choose a villa suite .. which was large and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We stayed here for a couple of nights whilst touring round SA, we upgraded ourselves to a villa as the standard room was a little dark, the villa was beautiful. Huge bathroom and very comfortable. We are in the resterant and chose the taster menue with wines which was superb. The staff were lovely and very helpful. Franschoek is a beautiful town, great shopping and very friendly. I would highly recomend this hotel and thank you.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

My wife and I had an excellent three night stay at Franschhoek Country House & Villas during a two week trip through South Africa. Staff was very friendly and always ready to accommodate any requests. The adjoining Monneaux Restaurant was the best dinner during our entire South Africa trip and the best filet I every had in my life. Only downside is that some road noise could be noticed from inside the grounds since the property is located directly off the main road to town.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Room was extremely nice although unfortunately ours did not look out onto the hills and bathroom a little small. We were on a long trip to South Africa so found the storage space in the room a little limited. Breakfasts were amazing and the staff could not have been more helpful and friendly. The complimentary shuttle was a real bonus in the evenings.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We just returned from South Africa and have wonderful wine memories of our stay at Franschhoek Country House and Villas. Throughout our stay everyone was friendly and accommodating. Our stay was brief so we didn't get a chance to enjoy the beautiful pool area, so our only regret was not staying longer. Our one evening meal was delicious and relaxing after a long day of tour. We are seasoned travelers and would highly recommend this beautiful French flavored getaway. A lovely surprise before our very early departure was a breakfast picnic to go! We will return. . .

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

My wife and I stayed for two nights in November 2011. All staff were extremely friendly, capable and helpful. We were upgraded to a villa which was very roomy, quiet, well equipped, comfortable and spotlessly clean though some furnishings did look a little tired.
I thoroughly enjoyed our stay I have no reservations in recommending the Franschhoek Country House & Villas.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Franschhoek Country House & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franschhoek Country House & Villas

Address: Main Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Franschhoek
#2 Family Hotel in Franschhoek
#4 Luxury Hotel in Franschhoek
#4 Romantic Hotel in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Franschhoek Country House & Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by enchanting vineyards and majestic mountains, this small Boutique hotel is set on the outskirts of the town of Franschhoek, in the Cape Winelands less than an hours drive from Cape Town. Offering a selection of standard, luxury, garden cottages and the exclusive villa suites. With a top rated award winning restaurant, guests can relax and enjoy the hospitality, laze at the pool, enjoy a massage or stroll on the world-renowned charming town of Franschhoek. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your Franschhoek Country House & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franschhoek Country House And Villas
Franschhoek Country House & Villas Hotel Franschhoek
Franschhoek Country Hotel
Franschhoek Country Boutique Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Franschhoek Country House & Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.