We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Conveniently located with nice rooms and beautiful pool area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Franschhoek Country House & Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Franschhoek Country House & Villas to your Saves list
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Main Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Conveniently located with nice rooms and beautiful pool area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

The hotel is located by the main road to Franschhoek, just at the outskirts of the town. The noise of the road didn't however seem to be noticeable once you are at the hotel, and the back view is of the very nice mountains surrounding the area. The location is a very good base to explore the nearby town, vineyards and restaurants, being just a short drive away. 

We stayed for four nights, and had pre-booked to change rooms after the first night, from a standard de luxe room to a luxury room. I found the standard room was very nice, smaller than the luxury one which had the benefit of a seating area, but I would have happily stayed at the standard room for the whole period. Both rooms were decorated in  classic country style, as one could expect from the name of the hotel anyway. The luxury room was slightly more private as it was situated in a building with other guest rooms, while the standard room was above the kitchen and main restaurant. 

We had dinner only once at the hotel restaurant, Monneaux, and although the food was good, we found that we had some memorable meals in other restaurants in the area. Breakfasts in the hotel were excellent with great variety of pastries, cold meats and cheeses, fresh fruit and hot options too. 

The hotel pool is very nice and relaxing, perfect for cooling down after a hot day's touring around. 

The hotel staff was very polite and the overall service was very good. When it came to making restaurant reservations it seemed that they would never find us a space, but we decided to show up without a reservation to the restaurants we wanted, and always found a table. This is more a reflection to the fact that in the area people just don't show up for their bookings, and tables do become free last minute. I would recommend that the hotel advises its guests of this possibility, although admittedly it can be a high risk strategy. In our case we had 100% success though and managed to enjoy some of the best meals of our life. 

One drawback of the hotel is the access to wi-fi. Firstly, it is not free, which nowadays seems to be an exception rather than the rule, and secondly it was extremely complicated to buy your wi-fi pass. We even got problems connecting back to the internet at a later stage even if we were still within our purchased window. 

Room Tip: Ask for one that faces the pool so to avoid any noise from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    387
    109
    29
    7
    5
See reviews for
56
368
6
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Calabasas, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

My husband and I enjoyed our South African vacation. We plan to visit again soon. There was so much to see and do. We spent a few days in the Winelands at the Franschhoek Country House and Villa. This was a perfect romantic place. It was cozy, charming and the details!!!!! I loved the lavender and lemons placed everywhere. The decor was subtle elegance. Our room was spacious and the in room service-impeccable! I can't remember the last time having hot water bottles warming your bed before going to sleep. We are also foodies. The restaurant was amazing. We didn't have enough time to stay there on this trip. That means we shall visit again soon and of course stay at Franschhoek Country House and Villas.
Thank you for a memorable and enjoyable vacation

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paarl
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

All my expectations were exceeded! The attention to detail will amaze you - the chocolates, hot water bottle etc in your bed, and the special service that will meet, and anticipate, your every need! The Villas are beautiful and luxurius. The food at the restaurant is excellent and reasonably priced. You will also enjoy a very special breakfast!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch, Western Cape, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Ours was a mid week, one night stay dinner bed and breakfast in a luxury room with a fireplace. What a perfect setting for a romantic get away. Our room was beautifully decorated, very comfortable with lots of unexpected little touches like rose petals on the bathroom floor and turned back bedclothes with hot waterbottle at your feet under the duvet. The bathrooms will probably need renovating in a couple of years time, but for now they are in fair shape. The gardens are gorgeous and the fountains everywhere cleverly placed to deaden out the sound of the main road running past the hotel. The service was excellent - and the eggs benedict with its classic hollandaise was sublime. The service was attentive without being obtrusive. Thank you, will we be back!

Room Tip: Definitely go for a room with a fire place in the winter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Beautiful setting. Surrounded by manicured gardens and fountains. Warm, friendly accommodating staff. Lovely rooms with underfloor heating and a beautiful fireplace in the luxury room that we stayed in. Gourmet food that was affordable. Fantastic breakfasts! We spent our first wedding anniversary there and we loved it. The staff treated us with care and the beautiful luxury setting made it a romantic weekend to remember. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Located at the base of lovely Franschhoek, we enjoyed our two night stay at the Country House. The rooms were large and homey, and the balconies provided excellent views of the surrounding mountains. They provide free, at-request shuttle service for the four minute ride to/from town for when you need a lift. Another transportation note: if the weather is cooperative, definitely try to rent out their bikes for a two-wheeled tour of the surrounding wine farms. Front-desk service was extremely helpful and managed to secure us a reservation at The Tasting Room (don't balk at the price-tag, do it).

We arranged our full-day private wine tour through them, and in retrospect, I wish I had organized that myself based on TA reviews. The guide they set us up with crowded us throughout the day, and while I understand it is offseason and places shut down for holiday, took us to two locations that were not open.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Chocolates and water on nightstand tables, robes and slippers laid out for you, hot water bottles at the foot of the bed if it's cold, fresh fruit basket....Need i say more? : )
About the only negative that I can think of is that the sound of the heater at night was distracting as it was loud.
Was an amazing villa, beautiful in every detail. We especially enjoyed the double sinks, free standing tub and music throughout the suite!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Franschhoek Country House & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franschhoek Country House & Villas

Address: Main Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Franschhoek
#3 Family Hotel in Franschhoek
#5 Romantic Hotel in Franschhoek
#5 Luxury Hotel in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Franschhoek Country House & Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by enchanting vineyards and majestic mountains, this small Boutique hotel is set on the outskirts of the town of Franschhoek, in the Cape Winelands less than an hours drive from Cape Town. Offering a selection of standard, luxury, garden cottages and the exclusive villa suites. With a top rated award winning restaurant, guests can relax and enjoy the hospitality, laze at the pool, enjoy a massage or stroll on the world-renowned charming town of Franschhoek. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Franschhoek Country House & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franschhoek Country House And Villas
Franschhoek Country House & Villas Hotel Franschhoek
Franschhoek Country Hotel
Franschhoek Country Boutique Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Franschhoek Country House & Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.