We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely spot and picnic shame about the wine” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Boschendal Manor & Winery

Boschendal Manor & Winery
Pniel Road | Groot Drakenstein, Franschhoek 7680, South Africa
+27 21 870 4200
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 39 Activities in Franschhoek
Type: Historic Sites, Wineries, Food & Drink
Attraction details
furness vale
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Lovely spot and picnic shame about the wine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

We really enjoyed the picnic. Beautiful place and tasty food. The service was also very friendly and good. Unfortunately we didnt enjoy the wine tasting at all and would recommend to anyone to skip it. The wine is average at best and the room where the wine tasting actually takes place looks shabby and like something out of 1960s. We had to go to the bar each time we were ready to taste the next wine rather than somedy coming over to us. The barman didn't give us any information about the wines we were tasting. Really poor compared with other wine estates we'd visited.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    62
    28
    11
    11
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Relax under oak”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

The approach drive past the duck pond and bandstand down the tree lined avenue to the manor house sets the tone for the relaxing lunch under oak trees.
The waiters were attentive and unobtrusive. We opted for the picnic basket and were delighted with the contents. All fresh and the coronation chicken one of the best I've tasted in a long while. We did ask the staff about one of the two pate's in the basket. We were slightly unsure of what it was, and so were the staff!
This is the place to relax, unwind and enjoy the delicious food, served in a picnic basket and most sociable.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reigate, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great Picnic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We had a great picnic here. The food and wine and location were fabulous, the staff very helpful ahd it cost about a third of what you would pay for a similar lunch in UK. Easy to find half way between Franschoek and Stellenbosch.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, AR, USA
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Stunning afternoon under the oak tree”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Boschendal offers wine tasting outside under a spreading oak tree. The sunlight filters through the branches and makes the wine really sparkle. What an afternoon we had! Very knowledgeable and friendly server. I'm not normally a white drinker -- unless in South Africa. Try them all, but don't miss "Bouquet" -- tastes and smells great.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful grounds and winery....but”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We visited the winery and the tasting room. Beautiful grounds and impressive site. After tasting we thought we would have lunch in their outdoor cafeteria. We ordered wine and a sandwich. The wine came right away, but after 30 minutes the wine was finished but no food. After another 10 minutes as we were about to leave, the sandwich finally came. Totally unimpressed. Our suggestion to you is visit the winery, but stay clear of the food facilities.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boschendal Manor & Winery also viewed

Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 

Been to Boschendal Manor & Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boschendal Manor & Winery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.