We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to return” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Residence

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added La Residence to your Saves list
La Residence
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Elandskloof Private Road | Elandskloof Farm, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Franschhoek
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Can't wait to return”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

My husband and I stayed at La Residence for 3 nights in May. From the moment we pulled up at the gate to the time we left we were spoilt by the view, the accommodation and the wonderful service. Our room was the Frangipani Suite and it was stunning. I'll start with the view - overlooking our lovely courtyard (with peacocks, gorgeous kittens and the occasional springbok roaming by) to the vineyards with the mountains in the background. We had sunshine, cloud, rain and it was beautiful whatever the weather.

The suite was stunning - white marble with a bathroom to die for. The furnishings were all of the highest quality and despite being opulent were completely tasteful. It was quiet, very comfortable and we were left wanting for nothing.

The service was fantastic. I would particularly like to mention Ewan (the sommelier) who clearly loves his job and being with people. He was a delight and made our dinners there even more enjoyable.

I also enjoyed a hot stone massage (on a cold, rainy afternoon) which was fabulous as well.

Despite it being such a luxurious place to stay the ambience is relaxed and casual. The perfect combination.

Thank you all at La Residence for making our stay such a memorable one.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    0
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
102
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Top Contributor
293 reviews 293 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
2,740 helpful votes 2,740 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We had an exceptional stay at La Residence and faultless. Our suite was tasteful and luxurious. The grounds are immaculate and fabulous views. Informal and hugely relaxing. Beautiful pool area with wonderful service

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

My husband and I had stayed at this unique hotel last year but we returned with ten friends recently for lunch just after The Literary Fair ended. Firstly, the level of service and attention to detail were of a very high calibre, all the food was beautifully presented and absolutely delicious, a particular starter of duck salad being one of many gastronomic triumphs.
Evan was our friendly, humorous and oh-so-knowledgeable sommelier and the party was warmly greeted and shown around this stunning boutique hotel by the suave and professional GM, Edward. Our table, dominated by the vineyards and mountains behind was superbly positioned on the beautiful palm-lined terrace outside and bathed in late Autumn sunshine. What a stunning setting and experience with which our party ended the weekend. Many thanks to all the great team at La Residence and what memories we go away with!

Room Tip: The" Elton John" suite is pretty special and exotic but all the rooms are unique in their...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castleford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

We stayed here at New Year, enjoyed it so much that we came back!!

We love the over stated opulence here, but love that Edward, Nick & the team tailor your stay.

If you want to be showered with service; it happens.
If you want to be left; the same service happens, it just doesn't look like it does!

You come down to breakfast & arrive back to your bed sheets replaced & ironed & crisp.

Sounds over the top & a bit stuffy...? Nope! It is a wonderful, happy La Res family that want to welcome you & do as much as they can for you.

Having stayed during the peak of summer & the back end of autumn, this place is wonderful!! We are here now & the underfloor heating and roaring fires makes this place cosy when it's raining outside (yuk!).

I mentioned it was my husbands birthday & out came a birthday cake!! Lemon! My fave (not my hubby's, but who cares!!! Was yummy)

Timothy, Nico (employee of the month), Juanita, Evan, Jake; these were the main people that made our stay absolutely wonderful - they could not do enough & the team seems to be a well knitted, tight team that want to make your holiday!

As I say a lot, please come here and smile and talk to people.....you don't need to be stuffy!

Thank you La Res team. We have loved it - keep doing what you are doing....it's amazing.

P.S you will need a chandelier in you life when you leave here :)

Room Tip: Tip; save your washing and get it all done here before you go home!! :) All rooms are amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

We recently returned back to New York after spending 2 weeks in South Africa on our honeymoon. I googled "African Safaris" and after doing much research, landed on Shannon Bishop and African Safari Home as my booking agent. We had a fantastic stay at La Residence and did not want to leave. Room 11 was truly incredible, and the food and the service were five-star. The hotel had also arranged our wine tours, and they provided complimentary shuttles too and from town which was convenient. We loved it here and would recommend anyone staying at least 2 nights. One of the nicest hotels we've ever stayed at in the world.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

We were greeted by a welcome group at the entrance of the hotel. A glass of rose bubbles and a small bouquet of freshly cut flowers. We were then shown to our suite No 7 which the main colour is red (my favourite colour). You have your own private sunbathing area with table chairs, sofa and sun lounger. We had a complimentary bottle of bubbles waiting for us in the room. The mini bar, snacks and laundry are all included in the price. The breakfast is cooked on order and was delicious. The service by all is outstanding. We were driven in to the main town by the hotel on request. We started our wine tasting tour at the hotel, who also provided cheese and biscuits to help soak up the wine. We were then driven by the bus and tram to the different wineries and had a full day of tasting. This is a great place for foodies and wine consumers. We had amazing dinners at La Residence and places around.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haslemere, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

It was a fabulous experience. An extraordinary place.. truely special.
Amazing service, nothing was too much trouble. The food & wine was A1.
I would recommend The Residence to anyone who wishes to be spoilt.

Room Tip: They are all unique & pure luxury
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to La Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Residence

Address: Elandskloof Private Road | Elandskloof Farm, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Franschhoek
#3 Luxury Hotel in Franschhoek
#4 Family Hotel in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — La Residence 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Residence is in a class of its own. Located in the beautiful Franschhoek valley, where the exquisite vineyards and mountains form a picture perfect backdrop, La Residence provides a haven of luxurious accommodation, fine dining and an all-round sensory indulgence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and South African Hotels so you can book your La Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Residence Franschhoek

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Residence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.