We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly warm welcome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rickety Bridge Winery

Rickety Bridge Winery
R45, Main Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
+27 21 876 2129
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 46 things to do in Franschhoek
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This historic estate was originally part of the great La Provence farm given to French Huguenot farmers in 1694. Over the years the property was divided and the portion which is now Rickety Bridge was granted to Paulina De Villiers, one of the first female land owners in South Africa, in 1797. In the late 1980's the estate became known as Rickety Bridge due to the old railway sleeper bridge which crossed the Franschhoek River and provided the entry point to the estate. The rickety bridge was replaced in 1996 and the new bridge provides a safe crossing over the river. Today, Rickety Bridge is a stately Franschhoek winery which has gone from strength to strength in recent years and the memory and pioneering spirit of Paulina De Villiers is celebrated by the flagship range of wines, Paulina's Reserve. These distinctive wines, as well as the renowned Rickety Bridge classic range and the Foundation Stone Range, have received many accolades and high praise in recent years.
Denia, Spain
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Friendly warm welcome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2015 NEW via mobile

Fennel was a delight. He was educational with an easygoing manor. we tasted 8 delicious wines accompanied by a meat and cheese platter. We would definitely recommend this place as part of your Franschhoek experience.

Visited May 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    18
    9
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
istanbul
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
47 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2015

During our Frenchoek and Stellenbosh visit in January we stopped by the Rickety Bridge for wine tasting. What a wonderful experience it was. The wines were great, especially the Souvignon Blanc.The others were also very tasty. The staff were friendly. I recommend this place to everybody visiting the region.

Visited January 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Good tasting experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2015

We tried Rickety Bridge purely due to its close proximity to Franschhoek. The estate, building and tasting area were all very nice. All of the wines were very dry and therefore not to our liking, but the overall experience and service were very enjoyable. It was a very relaxing and pleasant atmosphere with a courteous and knowledgeable waitress.

Visited March 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good wine tasting experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2015

friendly staff. Very knowledgeable on subject. Tasted some excellent white and reds. Pleasant setting. I can recommend the experience.

Visited March 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great wines!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2015

We visited Rickety Bridge on the wine tram tour. We had an very informative tasting session with a great mix of wines. Worth a visit. Great views!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rickety Bridge Winery also viewed

Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 

Been to Rickety Bridge Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rickety Bridge Winery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.