We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Franschhoek Wine Tasting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rickety Bridge Winery

Rickety Bridge Winery
R45, Main Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
+27 21 876 2129
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 46 things to do in Franschhoek
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This historic estate was originally part of the great La Provence farm given to French Huguenot farmers in 1694. Over the years the property was divided and the portion which is now Rickety Bridge was granted to Paulina De Villiers, one of the first female land owners in South Africa, in 1797. In the late 1980's the estate became known as Rickety Bridge due to the old railway sleeper bridge which crossed the Franschhoek River and provided the entry point to the estate. The rickety bridge was replaced in 1996 and the new bridge provides a safe crossing over the river. Today, Rickety Bridge is a stately Franschhoek winery which has gone from strength to strength in recent years and the memory and pioneering spirit of Paulina De Villiers is celebrated by the flagship range of wines, Paulina's Reserve. These distinctive wines, as well as the renowned Rickety Bridge classic range and the Foundation Stone Range, have received many accolades and high praise in recent years.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great Franschhoek Wine Tasting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Over several days we tried numerous vineyards in the area and Rickety Bridge was one of the best - in fact before our visit here (4th or 5th vineyard we tried) we considered giving up on wine tasting in the area.

The tasting itself was in a relaxed and friendly manner. The staff are genuinely interested in wine (and luckily the wines at Rickety Bridge are good), they serve a decent pour and encourage you to really enjoy the wine rather than many places where the whole process is so commercial and soulless!

Definitely add the vineyard to your itinerary. There is no need to ring ahead and you can also enjoy a leisurely lunch here (may need to book lunch depending on the day/season).

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    18
    9
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Great Missenden, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We spent two nights here and enjoyed it very much.

Lovely old house has only three letting rooms so book early. We had the downstairs room which had as small sitting room, very comfortable king size bed and big bathroom.

Lovely staff and great choice of breakfast options.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great setting for a casual lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

The quality of the food from the restaurant is excellent - I did not do the wine tasting here so cannot comment on this.
As far as the food goes, myself and my friends really enjoyed the fact that many of the dishes on the menu are available as half portions - this allows you to enjoy a lunch of sharing between friends. The wontons and gnocchi were amazing!!!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Characterful working winery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Beautiful location, with great wines and lovely restaurant. This winery felt much more genuine - a business but one focusing on wine rather than a wider commercial range.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Gone too modern and lost some charm.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

We went here a couple of years ago and were delighted. Two years later we took a trip out from Simonstown to revisit. The country around is still gorgeous and I loved being there but the winery has been modernised and not as nice. The food was good in the restaurant, but the tasting area (I don't drink but my wife does) has gone all chrome and glass.....gone are the rustic wood bars. Also, the staff were knowledgeable and polite but the whole setup has become impersonal. My wife purchased a few bottles because the wine is good (I am told) but such a shame they appear to have gone "corporate"

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rickety Bridge Winery also viewed

Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 

Been to Rickety Bridge Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rickety Bridge Winery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.