We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect property for exploring Franschhoek” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fransvliet Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Fransvliet Guest House to your Saves list
Fransvliet Guest House
4.0 of 5 Ranch   |   R45 (Hugenot Road 4km before Franschoek) | opposite La Motte - Leopards Leap, Franschhoek, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Zurich
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Perfect property for exploring Franschhoek”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Stayed here 2 nights mid december. Great place for exploring Franschhoek, spacious rooms, nice private veranda and a good pool area, serves a very good breakfast.
Next door La Maison is a must for dinner.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    10
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
17
102
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

My husband and I went to SA for our wedding and we needed a place to stay that would accommodate our immediate family before the wedding. Well, what we didn't realize is that we were in for a real treat. All the rooms were magnificent and so incredibly large from the norm these days.
Shirley and her team made us feel at home and each night was incredibly memorable, and were professional and friendly throughout our stay.
We couldn't have been luckier to have chosen Fransvliet as our pre wedding relaxing stay and I words do not describe how fantastic it is.
Lastly, the breakfasts... Every BnB needs a good breakfast, and this was above 5 star. It was incredibly delicious and fresh. I love that the products were fresh from the region and it was so so tasty, hearty but so beautifully presented it looked like art.
It was hard to say goodbye and we hope that we will be back soon

Room Tip: Everyroom is equally as beautiful as the next!Stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

After 5 weeks of travelling through S Africa with incredible experiences and hospitality, we thought it would be hard to top, but Shirley and her team managed just that! We arrived at Fransvliet after a 26-hour-train journey from Johannesburg and it was like coming home (but the breakfasts were better, excellent in fact!) We wish we could have stayed longer - next time can never come quickly enough!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley K, Owner at Fransvliet Guest House, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
It was a pleasure to be able to "place the cherry ontop" of your marvellous adventure. Thank you for choosing us, and we too look forward to your return visit, soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schweinfurt, Germany
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

At the end of our trip through Namibia we arrived at Fransvliet Guesthouse. South Africa. Everyone told us that there was a bad flood and windstorm the day before. But the staff was so unstressed and warm-hearted, either we could see that they had many work with the signs of the flood. Vicky and Victor...the whole staff were the so gorgeous! They recommended a lots of wine estates and restaurants! Vickys recommendations were absolutly fabulous and awesome. They payed attention without being importunately. The rooms were really comfortable and luxury especially room Shiraz. The position of Fransvliet Guesthouse being situated in the Franschhoek Valley is particular great. The breakfast is an experience and we felt like friends not like guests. Vicky and Victor thanks a lot for receiving us like friends.(Kisses at Washington) W´ll come back - sure!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley K, Owner at Fransvliet Guest House, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Wow, thank you so much for your fantastic comments and praise. Fransvliet is fortunate to have a dedicated team, and fortunately the resuts show this. We are glad that you felt so at home, and look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estero, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Fransvliet is an exceptional B & B experience in the heart of wine country, S. Africa. The reviews are more than accurate. Besides rooms with top of line emenities, incredible breakfast, & peaceful, yet convenient location with stunning views on a working farm, the staff adds the "plus" to the "A" we give this property. Victor and Vicky were helpful and informative without being intrusive. They made you feel like a friend, not a client. We didn't want to leave!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

A beautiful guest house in the most beautiful setting, beautifully decorated rooms with the finest attention to detail,delicious breakfasts and outstanding service!Will definetly be back!Highly recommended!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

If you would like 1) superb comfort, 2) genuine hospitality and warmth, 3) a superb location and 4) the tastiest breakfast imaginable then look no further!

We have stayed at Fransvleit twice now and cannot recommend this wonderful guest house enough. This is as good- as- it- gets in my mind. The quality of the fittings in the rooms is undeniable, the bed is so sumptuous you may never want to get out, the shower is perfectly powerful and the bath is big enough for two! What's more, ex Chef and Fransvliet owner Shirley and manager Victor cannot do enough for you- fresh and exquisite breakfasts, personal recommendations, exclusive bookings, sourcing specific bottles of wine/ bubbles, ice mint water by the pool...etc etc.

We became so attached to Fransvliet and Shirley that we decided to invite her and gorgeous husband Joe to our wedding which was taking place 3 months after our 2nd visit at a local vineyard!! It was a natural choice to put our nearest and dearest in Fransvliet for the days before and after our wedding- needless to say our guests loved it as much as we did!

You leave with a feeling of utter contentment. We are planning our next stay!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley K, Owner at Fransvliet Guest House, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
We love your comments -and it is time you returned to your happy place!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fransvliet Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fransvliet Guest House

Address: R45 (Hugenot Road 4km before Franschoek) | opposite La Motte - Leopards Leap, Franschhoek, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 38 Specialty Lodging in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fransvliet Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fransvliet Guest House is a tranquil, luxury retreat, only 4 kilometres from the heart of Franschhoek.It is situated on a working farm, growing grapes, olives and figs. Wake up to the call of the birds and in the evening perhaps hear the resident owls calling as they contemplate the night's hunt. Breathtaking mountain views are all around, each one more spectacular than the last. The individually decorated suites are pure luxury, with absolute attention to detail. Soft wineland colours set the tone for a perfect stay. Breakfast is an occasion, every day. Spend time in the newly renovated 65 year old house, either inside or on the veranda, enjoying the view of the pool and the vineyards. Celebrate "the best meal of the day" with either a Continental or a full breakfast that will include seasonal specials. The sparkling pool is at your disposal for those hot lazy afternoons. Relax in the shade with a magazine and an ice cold drink, before you cool off. Lazy winter days are a treat too. Snuggle up in your suite in a comfy armchair with your own personal fireplace - the perfect way to enjoy one of the local bottles of red wine. Meander through the garden, (both indigenous and other) on your way to your suite. Something special will be flowering at all times. In season, luscious figs will be found on the trees, and the scent of lemons may be in the air too. Take an early morning walk around the farm in December. The vines will be green and laden with fruit. In July, a few burgundy coloured leaves and bare sticks have their own attraction. Soak up the 360° view, especially the powerful Simonsberg mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Fransvliet Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fransvliet Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.