We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fransvliet Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Fransvliet Guest House to your Saves list
Fransvliet Guest House
4.0 of 5 Ranch   |   R45 (Hugenot Road 4km before Franschoek) | opposite La Motte - Leopards Leap, Franschhoek, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Luxembourg
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

we had an great stay (only one night) late January this year.
we were welcomed so lovely and everything was just perfect.
Breakfast is really really stunning!!!
Shirley was very helpful in organizing our restaurant reservation - (Ryan's Kitchen / great food)
we will recommend Fransvliet Guest House to family and friends.
Thank's a lot once more.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley K, Owner at Fransvliet Guest House, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
It was a pleasure to have you stay -and we hope you will return. Franschhoek is a special place, and we always aim to make our guests stay at Fransvliet perfect too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    10
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
17
102
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
melbourne
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We were fortunate to stay at Fransvliet Guest House from 15th - 17th March and had a wonderful time. We arrived slightly early but were welcomed by Victor with a lovely coffee and chat. Our room was lovely, romantic, comfortable, all the mod con's and more. Had a proper coffee machine which was a bonus. Spent a couple of hours by the pool which was lovely. Next door was Maison and we enjoyed a lovely dinner there.
Breakfast was amazing, trust me you wont go hungry and the quality of food was great with a lovely selection of breads, cereal and we were fortunate to enjoy the best scrambled eggs and smoked trout.
Can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

This place is simply stunning. Location is beautiful as you might expect from Franschhoek. But then the rooms themselves are amazing, decorated with such great taste and attention to detail. We felt like we'd found the best place in Franschhoek and will definitely be returning in the near future.
I could go about the breakfasts and the amazing owners but just book and see for yourselves.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stayed in the Shiraz rooms which are the former converted farm house. A big bathroom with a tub, twin basins and huge walk in shower. Excellent 6 foot bed and quality pillows and sheets, a minibar and fridge for your own wine and a complimentary bottle of fizz from our wonderful hostess Shirley, who cooks a some interesting and tastey breakfast. Free wifi and a sat tv.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley K, Owner at Fransvliet Guest House, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you very much for your great feed back. We hope to have the opportunity to tempt you with more excellent breakfasts in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We chose Fransvliet based on the reviews here and were very happy. Shirley and her team are so friendly and welcoming, and her breakfasts are huge and delicious! Shirley was very helpful in organizing our restaurant reservations (though some places were booked - so if you can, be sure to make your own reservations ahead of time!) There are fantastic wineries surrounding the inn - you don't have to venture far! And we are very happy we chose to stay in quaint Franschhoek instead of Stellenbosch, it has a much different vibe that we preferred. The whole Franschhoek experience, including our stay at Fransvliet, was very relaxing and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley K, Owner at Fransvliet Guest House, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Fransvliet, and for all your positive comments. As to the power in the bathroom. It is illegal in South Africa to have a normal power point in a bathroom, and I felt that toothbrushes and shavers have a battery option, so I am afraid I neglected this point. We will look into it.
Shirley Kilian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Found this thanks to Tripavisor.
Opened only last year, the gardens are already well established and there is a homely feel to each room, all named after grape varieties.
Shirley could not be more welcoming, and offered advice on places to see, things to do, and generally promoted Franschhoek. When asked about restaurants, she would never run down an estblishment, but rather would suggest alternatives, and said of of choices, "above average" , or not.
Breakfast was varied and excellent, and the staff could not have been more helpful.
All in all, a lovely place to spend a few days after the bustle of Cape Town.
For some reason, our bathroom, in which you could hold a good meeting it ewas so big, there were no power points for shavers/toothbrushes, but otherwise, excellent all round.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley K, Owner at Fransvliet Guest House, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Thank you Cloudie for your +great comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to Fransvliet -perhaps around the fireplace with a glass of red wine - during the winter months.
Shirley Kilian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We spent a night here last week and really enjoyed the place. Shirley and her team have put together a lovely , comfortable, modern b&b that we would go back to any time! The rooms are very comfortable, the wifi and tv work perfectly, and the bathrooms are very luxurious.
One of the best things is the breakfast, including the homemade jams, very good coffee pastries, and eggs cooked to order.
This is a new place, and from the road, doesn't look very impressive, however once you drive in, you are right in the vineyards and you get a good feeling of privacy. They have a pretty swimming pool surrounded by soft grass...I would go back any time!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley K, Owner at Fransvliet Guest House, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Thank you so much for your generous comments. It was a pleasure having you and we hope you will return to South Africa, and in particular Fransvliet. I am sure we can find a few more great restaurants to send you to - but yes it is key in the season to reserve in advance. This year, in advance, I will send out a list to clients who book in the season.
Shirley Kilian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fransvliet Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fransvliet Guest House

Address: R45 (Hugenot Road 4km before Franschoek) | opposite La Motte - Leopards Leap, Franschhoek, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 38 Specialty Lodging in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fransvliet Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fransvliet Guest House is a tranquil, luxury retreat, only 4 kilometres from the heart of Franschhoek.It is situated on a working farm, growing grapes, olives and figs. Wake up to the call of the birds and in the evening perhaps hear the resident owls calling as they contemplate the night's hunt. Breathtaking mountain views are all around, each one more spectacular than the last. The individually decorated suites are pure luxury, with absolute attention to detail. Soft wineland colours set the tone for a perfect stay. Breakfast is an occasion, every day. Spend time in the newly renovated 65 year old house, either inside or on the veranda, enjoying the view of the pool and the vineyards. Celebrate "the best meal of the day" with either a Continental or a full breakfast that will include seasonal specials. The sparkling pool is at your disposal for those hot lazy afternoons. Relax in the shade with a magazine and an ice cold drink, before you cool off. Lazy winter days are a treat too. Snuggle up in your suite in a comfy armchair with your own personal fireplace - the perfect way to enjoy one of the local bottles of red wine. Meander through the garden, (both indigenous and other) on your way to your suite. Something special will be flowering at all times. In season, luscious figs will be found on the trees, and the scent of lemons may be in the air too. Take an early morning walk around the farm in December. The vines will be green and laden with fruit. In July, a few burgundy coloured leaves and bare sticks have their own attraction. Soak up the 360° view, especially the powerful Simonsberg mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Fransvliet Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fransvliet Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.