We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing wine, company and rest!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stony Brook Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Franschhoek
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stony Brook Cottages
Save
You added Stony Brook Cottages to your Saves list
Stony Brook Vineyards | Green Valley Road, Franschhoek, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Amazing wine, company and rest!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We had a lovely overnight stay at Stony Brook cottages while in Franschhoek for the "Walk This Earth Alone" art exhibition. We enjoyed a wine tasting at our arrival at Stony Brook, and retreated with a bottle of The "J" - a wonderful, tasty and versatile wine, which we enjoyed before and together with our dinner in the cottage. The cottage is well-equipped and spacious, and we slept warm and cozy. Plenty of candles and a fireplace gives warmth and a romantic atmosphere. The setting of the cottages is beautiful, with the small stream running past and mountains overlooking orchards. We will definitely return for another stay! Especially since we came during a very rainy weekend, and the mountains were hiding behind the clouds. Because of the wet weather we also forgot to go and look at their Ghost Gum!

Room Tip: We stayed in Cottage 1, a great choice for a couple!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig M, Public Relations Manager at Stony Brook Cottages, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
It was lovely to meet the both of you. We look forward to having you back - maybe next time we can convince you to taste a few more of our wines!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    16
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
21
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

If you're looking to get away from it all - this is the place to come. The cottages are situated at the top of a working wine farm with beautiful views. The bed is also the most comfortable one I have ever slept in away from home.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig M, General Manager at Stony Brook Cottages, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
We're so glad that you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Perfect setting for a weekend in the wine lands. Winter or summer. Great fireplace, quaint and cute cottage. Friendly owners on the working farm. No hassles. Very clean. Highly recommend for friends weekend away, wedding accommodation or couples retreat. Great over Bastille weekend. Very well priced.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig M, Public Relations Manager at Stony Brook Cottages, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Thank you so much for the positive review - and what a pleasure it was to take care of you over the Bastille weekend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geer, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

The Stony Brook Cottages are well hidden on the domain and not "very" easily accessible but this also offers a guaranteed restful stay. Stony Brook offers (off course) also wine tasting on the beautiful domain so making your stay great shouldn't be a problem. The cottages are well equipped and very large. Joy (one of the owners) told us that they invested in the beds and I can confirm they are very comfortable (although the wine probably helped to doze off in mere seconds after hitting the blankets :-)). We were here in April (start of Autumn in SA) and the first night was a bit chilly. The cottages have heating units in the bedrooms but don't expect to have the same experience as a central heating system. All cottages however have a fireplace but check if firewood is present (the local Pick&Pay sells it in abundance so don't worry). This is off course something you won't need in the summer or spring.
They are constructing a swimming pool next to the cottages but when we were there it was still under construction.
We really can recommend these cottages for family stays or just if you want a quiet moment for yourself. Fransschoek is very close to offer you culinary pleasure and a nice evening out (the Mont Rochelle Wine tasting Restaurant is a real topper for dinner on Monday or Tuesday evenings).

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig M, Public Relations Manager at Stony Brook Cottages, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
We're so glad that you enjoyed your stay! Our swimming pool is now completed, so if you stay with us in summer it will provide welcome relief from the African Sun!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

We stayed at Stony Brook for one night in March 2012 and had a wonderful experience. We were visiting friends in Cape Town - and wanted to spend two days all together out in wine country. We stayed in two cottages which were huge, very comfortable and set up with all the fixings--including wine glasses to drink our new bottle of Stony Brook Sauvignon blanc. We took a swim in the dam (which I have come to learn means, pond or lake), chatted to Joy and Christna about restaurants in the area, and were there to experience the excitement in getting a shipment of wine ready for export. It was one of the most intimate of the vineyards we visited- and it was a great value. Best wishes to Joy and her team-- I hope your plans to export to the US work out soon--we already drank our Stony Brook wine!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig M, Public Relations Manager at Stony Brook Cottages, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Thank you so much for the kind words. We're sending a small shipment of our wine to our new agent in Chicago (it should be with him in the next month or so) - if you drop me an email I can send you his details!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

We had the pleasure of staying at Stony Brook for the Festival of Bubbles in December 2011.

Making a reservation was simple and effective and the property is very well located in the valley, has great views and is easy to find.

The cottages are new, in excellent condition and contain all the amenities one could want. The furnishings and fittings are of a high standard and the beds are exceptionally comfortable!

Our hosts were very accommodating and able to attend to our requests quickly and without fuss.

We look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stony Brook Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stony Brook Cottages

Address: Stony Brook Vineyards | Green Valley Road, Franschhoek, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 39 Specialty Lodging in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three of the cottages are single bedroom units that sleep two and one (Cottage 5) is larger with two double bedrooms each with its own en suite bathroom. There are basic cooking and barbeque facilities available in each of the units and there is access to a communal swimming pool. The cottages provide a perfect opportunity to experience life on a working wine farm. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stony Brook Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.