We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best pancakes” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gideon's The Famous Franschhoek Pancake House

Gideon's The Famous Franschhoek Pancake House
62 Huguenot Road | 62 Huguenot House, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
+27 (0)21 876 4788
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 64 Restaurants in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $4 - $15
Cuisines: French, Ice Cream, Vegan
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Rondebosch, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best pancakes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2015

Pancakes were spectacular. We were 6 people and everyone was unanimous - these were memorable pancakes indeed!

  • Visited April 2015
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    231
    51
    20
    10
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
“Shoddy, terrible service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2015

I would be willing to pay the horribly overpriced cost of two pancakes but I cannot overlook the absolutely terrible service. The waitress walked away while we were trying to order another drink, we were not given any cutlery and the general feeling was that our waitresses (we had two, not sure who was actually serving us) were doing us a major favour. We will certainly not return for less than mediocre pancakes and rude waitresses. If I could rate this place zero, I would do so!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Lovely owner and great blend of flavors with warm service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2015

Nothing to dislike. Very good pancakes, but done with a sense of style and lovely presentation. Some flavors went well together that we would never have thought to blend. Also, great lattes!

Visited March 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Lovely food but lousy service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2015

We had delicious savoury pancakes for lunch but have to note that the service was so offhand that it bordered on rudeness. It was not the type of service that we experienced elsewhere in the Cape so a great shame.

  • Visited March 2015
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“What a let down”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2015

Cold coffee , poor service and a clear indication of a once great place going downhill fast , prices are also over the top

Visited March 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gideon's The Famous Franschhoek Pancake House also viewed

Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 

Been to Gideon's The Famous Franschhoek Pancake House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gideon's The Famous Franschhoek Pancake House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.