We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent pancakes” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gideon's The Famous Franschhoek Pancake House

Gideon's The Famous Franschhoek Pancake House
62 Huguenot Road | 62 Huguenot House, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
+27 (0)21 876 4788
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 61 Restaurants in Franschhoek
Price range: $5 - $16
Cuisines: French, Vegan, Ice Cream
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Gottingen, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent pancakes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

A consistent favourite for many years now. The pancakes are excellent and fluffy. Their toppings are tasty and interesting.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    227
    49
    16
    10
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durbanville
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Pancakes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

This is the place to go for the Famous Francshoek pancakes! What to expect - Friendly staff, a relaxed atmosphere and delicious pancakes - try the curry chicken if you have a savoury tooth and for those less adventurous the plain cinnamon and ice-cream ones are a firm favourite - really good idea that half portions are available so you can satisfy both your savoury and sweet tooth! Looking forward to our next visit soon!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cape town
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“mmmmmm DELISH!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

My daughter, Robynn insisted that we try Gideon's delish pancakes. We finally took the scenic drive to Franschoek yesterday and from the moment we arrived, felt so welcome and relaxed. What amazing hospitality and absolutely delish pancakes...mmmmm is all I can say! Savoury and sweet - I had a little taste of everyone's around the table.

Our lovely day out with gran, sis, aunt, daughter and Adam of course!

Highly recommend and will definitely be back.

Coleen (Dragon lady!!)

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Not the best pancake house in franschhoek”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

After sitting for about 20 minutes waiting to get any service we were served by a charming waiter.
Ordered a savoury and sweet pancake which were ok but not that great. The white wine and chicken pancake tasted quite acidic and really like a ready made sauce.
Don't really know what all the fuss is about - the other pancake restaurant had more choice , nicer food and better service

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Definitely SHould Be On Your List!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Gideon was delightful, regaling us with stories of how he came to be in the Pancake business. There is such a wonderful selection of both savoury and sweet pancakes that one visit cannot possibly do it justice. Every pancake was a delight, beautifully presented and I can highly recommend the Carrot, Apple and Beetroot Juice! Will definitely visit again ...

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gideon's The Famous Franschhoek Pancake House also viewed

Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 

Been to Gideon's The Famous Franschhoek Pancake House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gideon's The Famous Franschhoek Pancake House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.