We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice pancakes, but overpriced & overrated” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Gideon's The Famous Franschhoek Pancake House

Gideon's The Famous Franschhoek Pancake House
62 Huguenot Road | 62 Huguenot House, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
+27 (0)21 876 4788
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 62 Restaurants in Franschhoek
Price range: $5 - $16
Cuisines: French, Vegan, Ice Cream
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Reading, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Nice pancakes, but overpriced & overrated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We were greeted warmly by the owner, who recognized we were Dutch and explained the menu to us in Dutch which was nice.
The interior, although basic, is quite nice and i liked the photo canvasses on the wall.

The pancakes (I had the lamb, my other half had the chicken livers) were nice, but not INCREDIBLE like many people here seem to suggest. My pancake lacked seasoning in my opinion and was luke warm, not warm/hot when served - the same for the other pancake.

The fruit juice was very nice and original (apple, carrot and beetroot). The warm chocolate milk i had afterwards, as recommended by the owner was nice because you could add the chocolate to a mug of milk so you could add chocolate to your own taste. A lovely concept, but I'm sorry to say it tasted average.

Although the people were very nice, and all in all was nice, this is what it is: pancakes for lunch. I seriously cannot comprehend that in a town like Franschhoek where you find amazing gourmet food places (including one that was included in the San Pellegrino World top 50) practically on every corner, a pancake house is rated as number one.
I think it has something to do with the fact that the owner asked every table twice to please write a review on Trip Advisor. I obviously understand the importance of TA to your business but going around asking everyone for a review, seemed a tad 'too much' for us, it also made it seem less genuine.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    227
    49
    16
    10
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

My husband and I went to Franschhoek after a mission trip in Jo-burg. We wanted to relax and enjoying time together eating and experiencing yet another beautiful place. Walking down the main street there are dozens of places to eat. I love pancakes to so instantly drawn to this restaurant. My husband took a little persuading but agreed in the end. From the moment we sat down I felt relaxed and somewhat entertained by the flamboyant owner. The menu was fantastic and so I decided to try the lamb, not something I would usually do as I don't generally eat lamb. We sat outside, looking at the mountains, drinking coffee and were quickly served our food. It was delightful, beautiful, yummy and filling. I was very impressed with the blend of flavours in both mine and my husbands pancakes, not thrown together but carefully selected it seemed to maximise the experience. Good value for money and a lovely experience as well as an incredible meal. Incase you are wondering, mu husband loved it too!

Wonderful!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
“Amazing Pancakes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Pancakes where very nice, great for breakfast or a mid day snack. they have both savoury and sweet options with interesting toppings

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Well worth the drive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Taking time off wine-tasting in Stellenbosch, we decided to find out what makes this pancake house the number one place to visit in Franschhoek. Entering into a shop with a nice quaint interior and the most amazing shop owner, we ordered a pancake and the belgian hot chocolate.
The pancakes were simply delicious and so fluffy you would never get sick of it. The hot chocolate was just divine and perfect given the slight rain pouring outside.
Would definitely visit again on my next trip to South Africa.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Better than Harries!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

I am an experienced pancake eater :)
The weather was ideal pancake weather...any pancake eater will agree: it was a cool and overcast day with a slight drizzle. We decided to stop there because we were famished from driving and wine tasting and it offered a beautifully lit and simply furnished place to stop for a munch. We got more than we bargained for. The owner met us at the door and explained the menu. It was pricey, but he said that they allow sharing at no extra cost. We shared the lamb bredie (a type of casserole/stew) and the banana and homemade caramel. Best pancakes ever!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gideon's The Famous Franschhoek Pancake House also viewed

Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 

Been to Gideon's The Famous Franschhoek Pancake House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gideon's The Famous Franschhoek Pancake House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.