We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wow” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Franschhoek Pass

Franschhoek Pass
Regional road R45 (Western Cape) | Tra (between) Franschhoek - Villiersdorp, Franschhoek, South Africa
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 46 things to do in Franschhoek
Attraction details
Canterbury
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“wow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Everytime I drive around the pass, It just gets better. The views are fab & the thought of all those glorious restaurants ..........

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    245
    89
    10
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East London, South Africa
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Mist can make it dangerous.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We went through the mist, and visibility was really bad. Sadly we missed the beautiful views so will have to do this again sometime.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape St Francis, South Africa
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“One of the Western Cape's best drives”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

The Franschhoek valley is a truly beautiful valley and the best way to view it is from the pass. Franschhoek is a great food and wine destination

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Spectacular views on SCARY road!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Scary, twisty road! But views spectacular, and plenty of places to park up for photos. Also saw baboons on roadside.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Don't miss Franschhoek!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Franschhoek is a beautiful wine town located in the Western Cape Province. It is about 75 kilometers from Cape Town. There are many restaurants and cute shops to visit as you walk through the town's center. There are also many opportunities to do wine tasting at the many local vineyards. We had a private driver take us to Franschhoek which was so nice as we were able to travel at our own pace.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Franschhoek Pass also viewed

 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 

Been to Franschhoek Pass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Franschhoek Pass, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.