We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mist can make it dangerous.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Franschhoek Pass

Franschhoek Pass
Regional road R45 (Western Cape) | Tra (between) Franschhoek - Villiersdorp, Franschhoek, South Africa
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Scenic Drives
Attraction Details
East London, South Africa
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Mist can make it dangerous.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We went through the mist, and visibility was really bad. Sadly we missed the beautiful views so will have to do this again sometime.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    56
    7
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cape St Francis, South Africa
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“One of the Western Cape's best drives”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

The Franschhoek valley is a truly beautiful valley and the best way to view it is from the pass. Franschhoek is a great food and wine destination

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Spectacular views on SCARY road!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Scary, twisty road! But views spectacular, and plenty of places to park up for photos. Also saw baboons on roadside.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Don't miss Franschhoek!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Franschhoek is a beautiful wine town located in the Western Cape Province. It is about 75 kilometers from Cape Town. There are many restaurants and cute shops to visit as you walk through the town's center. There are also many opportunities to do wine tasting at the many local vineyards. We had a private driver take us to Franschhoek which was so nice as we were able to travel at our own pace.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“AWESOME!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Recently my wife went for a nice leisurely drive through the Franschhoek Pass. The majestic mountains and beautiful lakes provide, arguably, some of the most spectacular scenery in the Overberg region.

It is a fairly long drive, so one needs a few hours to spare but one comes away truly inspired. Highly recommended for the stressed up townee!

And on a balmy day, such as we experienced, you might see a troop of baboons performing on the side of the road. A nice bonus!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Franschhoek Pass also viewed

 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 

Been to Franschhoek Pass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Franschhoek Pass, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.