We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Meal in a Popular Restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Bon Vivant @ Glenwood

Le Bon Vivant @ Glenwood
Robertsvlei Rd off R45 @ Glenwood Boutique Winery | Robertsvlei Valley, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa (Formerly Okamai Japanese Restaurant)
021 876 2044
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 64 Restaurants in Franschhoek
Cuisines: Winery, Bistro
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Meal in a Popular Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2015 NEW

We enjoyed eating from a very interesting dinner menu. The service was excellent. We liked watching the staff working in the kitchen,and were amazed how calm they seemed, while cooking for so many people!

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    10
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Lovely setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2015

We visited with friends for Sunday lunch on a lovely autumn day.
Firstly, the wines were excellent, including the Sauvignon Blanc, Merlot and the Merlot/Shiraz blend.
The menu was broad enough to cater for most of our tastes. We shared olives/tapenade/bread, bitterballen and duck spring rolls. All very nice. For main I went for pork belly Asian style which was tasty, being served in a broth, but the crispy crackling was too hard. Never mind, the overall experience was good and such a delightful quiet setting just off the Robertsvlei Road near Franschhoek. Do not confuse it (or let your satnav be confused) with the Bon Vivant in Franschhoek!

  • Visited April 2015
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
225 reviews 225 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“An autumn afternoon between vines and mountains”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2015

On a wind still autumn afternoon few things are as good as a leisurely lunch at Le Bon Vivant at Glenwood. You sit under large trees looking at mountains and vineyards and a little dam with water lilies in it. The food is good. I had melon, tomato and basil soup and a lovely tagliatelle pasta with Gruyere and mushrooms. My partner went for the bitterballen and tuna. His food was not as tasty as mine but still good. I really do like this restaurant. You will struggle to find a more tranquil place in Franschhoek.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Disappointing meal”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2015

My husband and I had lunch at this restaurant on 24 March. I ordered what was described as pasta with an assorted mushroom sauce and my husband had a prawn broth. I had to search for the mushrooms and wondered if they had run out by the time we ordered, (13.30). The prawn broth contained 4 small prawns We ordered Crepe Suzette for dessert. Tough pancakes with no orange liqueur sauce on the plate, served with ice cream, for R75.00. I can think of several restaurants in Franschhoek where they serve better meals in the same price range. In fact I would have done better at home.

  • Visited March 2015
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Top Contributor
356 reviews 356 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 119 cities Reviews in 119 cities
196 helpful votes 196 helpful votes
“Lovely place for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2015

We came here primarily to taste the wines, which we did (we always spit!). Then afterwards as time was getting on we decided to have lunch here and had a small glass of wine with lunch.

The food was very good, as was the wine. The food wasn't quite up to the standard of Foliage or Reubens but was still very good.

It is a lovely relaxing place to have a long lunch over a few bottle sod wine, as long as someone else is driving.

  • Visited November 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Bon Vivant @ Glenwood also viewed

Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 

Been to Le Bon Vivant @ Glenwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Bon Vivant @ Glenwood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.