We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pleasurable experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Babylonstoren

Babylonstoren
R45 Road, between Paarl and Franscchoek, Franschhoek, South Africa
+27(0)21 8633852
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 61 Restaurants in Franschhoek
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“pleasurable experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Always a memorable experience! Lovely gardens, good fresh produce and creative use of seasonal fresh food! Excellent wine, and lovely garden walk!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    47
    20
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ballito, South Africa
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Amazing setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

This wine estate is an absolute beaut. The organic vegetable garden is amazing, I spent a long time wondering around the gardens. The Clivia's along side the stream were beautiful. You can spend a lot of time here just walking around the property and enjoying the beauty of the setting. We did not eat at the restaurants but did the wine tasting and enjoyed it thoroughly, the staff were excellent.
This wine estate is worth the visit for its natural beauty

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Beutiful garden and amazing food and drinks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Such an amazing place! The gardens are beautiful and the restaurant (glasshouse) had wonderful food and atmosphere. You can't go the Franschoek and not stop here. Truly a wonderful experience and a great place to spend a day with the family.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paarl
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“No food order no juice no seat”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

I visited Babylonstoren last Sunday. I am 78 years old and walk with some difficulty using a walking stick. I walked through the gardens quite a long way to the clivias. When I got back to the restaurant area I was tired and just wanted to sit down for a few minutes with a glass of fruit juice. I asked if this was possible. I was told that it was not possible to order a glass of juice if I did not order a meal. One of their staff told me I could walk over to their farm store some distance away if I wanted to buy a bottle of juice. It was too far to walk for me at this stage so I walked to my car and left. They wont see me again.i

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good food with limited options.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We had a stunning breakfast at Babel,plates were nicely presented with spot on taste of every meal.The menu had limited options to choose from, 3 options with a special dish of the day that changes dayly.Good service from the waiters.Freshly squeezed juice were available.We finished it off with a stroll on their beautiful grounds.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Babylonstoren also viewed

Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 

Been to Babylonstoren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Babylonstoren, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.