We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you LOVE Olives - this is the Place for you!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gooding's Groves Olive Farm & Guest House

Save Saved
You added Gooding's Groves Olive Farm & Guest House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gooding's Groves Olive Farm & Guest House
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Goederust / La Motte | Main Road, R45, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 56 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
South Africa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“If you LOVE Olives - this is the Place for you!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

Wine, Cheese, Bread & Olives go hand & hand to me. Thus this was the perfect place to stay at. The Guest house is perfectly situated just outside of Franschoek, and right next to the La Motte wine estate - which sets the benchmark for wine tasting experiences! The Guest house is beautifully decorated, rooms are spacious & comfortable - which worked perfectly for us traveling with a toddler! The manager of the guest house, Mareaze is a gracious hostess who went out of her way to make sure we experienced the perfect "homely" experience on the olive farm. Even offering to take our toddler off our hands for 30 min to go feed the chickens! 30 min to mom & dad to relax is priceless!!! They also grow & bottle their own olives, and as someone who really enjoys eating & tasting different olives, these were DELICIOUS! We definately wont hesitate recommending this place to anyone traveling thru Franschoek!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mareaze, General Manager at Gooding's Groves Olive Farm & Guest House, responded to this review, May 3, 2012
To our beautifull family who stayed here with us at Goodings Groves Thank you from the Whole Goodings Groves Family... for your usefull and rewarding review!! this so great to hear and
motivates us all to strive and keep up the good work... Thank you Kind Regards
Mareaze Estate manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    12
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
29
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011 via mobile

Amazing setting with awesome views of the mountains! Host is lovely and very hospitable! Breakfast is great, they will make whatever you are in the mood for! Cant wait to go back!!!!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

We needed to escape the hustle and bustle of Jozi to celebrate our first wedding anniversary and our thoughts turned to the picturesque Franschhoek Valley. High on our list was atmosphere and service, followed by surroundings and places of interest.

We flew in to Cape Town on the late afternoon flight, headed out to Goodings Groves and received a call from the manager to enquire if we were en-route and that all was ok? This was our first taste of the excellent service to come.

Our room was fantastic, the size, decor and personal touches such as complimentary olives - just what the weary traveller needs. The views are nothing short of spectacular and set nestled again the lower slopes of the mountain away from the main road - quiet.

As they were aware that it was a special weekend there was even a bottle of 'real' champagne on ice.

The breakfasts were sumptuous - great variety and served with a personal touch, I was not at a guest house, instead these were long lost family that I was visiting.

It is possible to take a bicycle and ride into town as one is only a stone's throw away. We however were a little lazy and drove into town.

Great food in available, varied shopping, the museum and wine farms. For lovers of cars the best motoring museum is just down the road. (I do)

The staff are a great source of local knowledge and will advise of just when and where to go!

We strolled through the groves, took in the fresh air and relaxed in front of a fire and read after supper. DSTV and internet are available if that is on your list of must-haves.

The conference venue nestled alongside a pond is fantastic, made us wish we had been able to exchange vows here....

We could have stayed so much longer than a short weekend!

Our only wish is that dinner in the dining room was standard - that would be perfect. However with all the options in town, maybe not...

We will be back, if not this year then the next!


Paul & Liz Louw

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mareaze, General Manager at Gooding's Groves Olive Farm & Guest House, responded to this review, August 18, 2011
Wow guys thank you great to have spoiled you we look forward to doing just that again.
Take Care
Mareaze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

We spent a wonderful night at Goodings Grove during a very cold June month. The fireplace in the lounge was so welcoming, as was the glass of Red Wine and mouthwatering homegrown olives we received on arrival! The guest house is geared for cold nights and we were so warm. Our son Max (18 months) had so much fun playing on the 'stoep' as we sipped our wine. The staff and management are fabulous and really made us feel at home. The breakfast in the morning was delicous and cooked to exactly our taste, with local cheeses, jams and homemade breads! The rooms are luxurious and the attention to detail really adds to the charm of the place. Beautiful decor, fresh coffee, rusks and olives, lavender sprigs in the bathroom, a delux bed and linen and an view that makes one feel like they are in rural France. We will go back as often as we can!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011 via mobile

Good value and beautiful location, right next to La Motte wine farm. Rooms are clean and well equipped with satellite TV. Can be noisy if you have a downstairs room and there are people staying on top of you.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mareaze, General Manager at Gooding's Groves Olive Farm & Guest House, responded to this review, August 18, 2011
Thank you for your review ... much appreciated we look forward to seeing you
guys again in the near future.
Take Care
Mareaze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2011

You could not pick a better place to stay in Franschhoek. Rural bliss! Great breakfast. Lovely pool. Warm and friendly people. Highly recommended.

Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2011

This was a lovely B&B very comfortable and homely. Situated on a working grape and olive farm with chickens pecking all around. Being in the valley surrounded by mountains what a pleasant scene to wake up too each morning. The rooms are spacious with ceiling fans which at first I was a bit disappointed there was no airconditioning but infact the fan was better as it didn't dry the air.
The breakfast's were amazing and even freshly baked muffins yum. Millie I have tried your recipe for the fab omelettte you made us and it worked.
This B&B is a very short distance from the beautiful town of Franschhoek where you will find lots of very good restuarants and shops. If your feeling up to it there are two bicyles you can borrow and cycle into town or a little further to the car museum and of course the wine estates.
Ger and Marlene Ireland

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gooding's Groves Olive Farm & Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gooding's Groves Olive Farm & Guest House

Address: Goederust / La Motte | Main Road, R45, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gooding's Groves Olive Farm & Guest House 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gooding's Groves offers an idyllic location set in the heart of the Franschoek Valley, surrounded by towering mountains, olive trees and vineyards. Only a short distance from the village and surrounded by some of SA's top wine estates, relax in the comfort of one of our eight en-suite guest rooms, each with an outside entrance, balcony and panoramic views of the Drakenstein and Franschhoek mountains. We look forward to welcoming you... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Gooding's Groves Olive Farm & Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gooding's Groves Olive Farm & Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.