We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A small restaurant with ready menu” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ryan's Kitchen

Ryan's Kitchen
12 Huguenot Rd, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
+2721-8764598
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 62 restaurants in Franschhoek
Price range: $30 - $60
Cuisines: African, Contemporary, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Conemporary South African cooking with a unique setting,excitment and open interactive kitchen located on the main road of Franschhoek.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A small restaurant with ready menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We made a reservation a day before. It's a small restaurant and they have their set menu for you. I am vegetarian and had a very good meal. No surprise that very good wine and exteremly friendly service. Food taste was very good and keep space in your stomach for desert as well. Reservation is essantial like other restaurants in area.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    223
    67
    40
    4
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Something different”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Ryan has a very unique approach to food and dares to combine very different ingredients together. For example, the tapioca and crab pudding was a combination for one of the entrees. A few too many flavours competing on the plate for my taste although my husband really liked his meal and thought the lamb rooti was very good. The crème de menthe soufflé with Amarula ice cream (from someone who likes to think they are a soufflé connoisseur) to finish was top notch. This is a small restaurant and part of it's appeal is you are able to view the chefs in the kitchen first hand - compliments on how well they work together with never a cross moment. Service is also excellent. If you are looking for something “a bit out there” and a chef who is passionate about his food then try this restaurant.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

We had a nice lunch at Ryan's. It came highly recommended along with top reviews from Trip Advisor.

The meal was nice, though below the high expectations. Perhaps we caught them on an off day.

The ambience was great. We ate in the front room with views into the surprisingly homey kitchen. Homey in an upscale, thoughtfully built kind of way.

The staff was very nice and attentive.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Maybe our best meal ever..?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We have visited meny good restaurants - also Michelin-rated. We also like modern cuisine-style, which you need to appreciate the meal. It was superb, tasty, innovative, exiting and a fantastic evening. And almost impossible to remember every course... 8 delicios courses - and a little extra - with 8 different wines. Not too much - or too little. Maybe the wines could have been a little more exiting/daring - but alltogheter- absolutely superb. We spoke to Ryan himself before he walked home - a very entusiastic chef. It is difficult to make it better than this.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Foodie paradise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

If you are a foodie... If you love incredible, innovative, memorable, photography inspiring food that tastes like nothing you've ever tasted before. THIS is the place!
Tucked away in a quaint garden on the main road of Franschhoek, you would never suspect such advanced food.
The restaurant is warm and very cosy.. you feel like you're right at home.
The open kitchen gives it a modern edge that strangely enough adds to the cosiness and personal touch of the restaurant.
I suggest just to take the chefs special 4 course and just let 'em bring you the best of the best!
( from experience, the 5 course was way too much and I left with a food baby in my stomach almost unable to walk. The 6 course... I can't even imagine)

This place takes food seriously. A true Food lover's paradise!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ryan's Kitchen also viewed

Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 

Been to Ryan's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ryan's Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.