We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful retreat in Franschhoek” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dieu Donne Guest Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Franschhoek
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dieu Donne Guest Farm
Save
You added Dieu Donne Guest Farm to your Saves list
Off La Provence Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 58 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Peaceful retreat in Franschhoek”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Stopped for a weekend in the squirrel suite.

The suite is a stand alone cottage furnished with a fantastic huge bed and a luxurious bathroom with a jacuzzi bath and double stand alone shower. Bathroom also had a chaise long and an ipod docking station and mood lighting.
Outside on the patio is a set of chairs and a fridge where we found some lovely sparkling wine, local hand made chocolates and olives.
The suite is a lovely place to relax either just sitting outside admiring the view and the sounds of birds or lying in the bath staring out the window. The room has no tv but you don't go there for this and having some soothing music playing via the docking system or via the cd player is just want you need while you sit back and enjoy your wine.
Breakfast was good and only a short stroll from the suite.The hosts were lovely people , most welcoming and helpful.

The room also has a wood burner which we used at night and this gave lots of heat while we chilled out on the bed.

If you come from cape town best not following your sat nav directly. once your on the main road into Franschhoek don't turn off till you see the actual sign for the guest farm as my sat nav took me off a couple of turns early.

At the moment the neighbouring land is being redeveloped and makes the road up to the guest farm look like your heading nowhere but a building site but don't be put off and continue through till you get to the farm gates. This said you here no noise from this redevelopment neither does it spoil the view or tranquility of the place.

We had a lovely relaxed stay while we explored the local wineries.

Room Tip: go for the squirrel suite where you have the sparkling wine and chocolates left for you and is one o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    28
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
96
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I would highly recommend Dieu Donne to anyone traveling to Franschhoek!! We unfortunately could only stay for 1 night but will definitely go back!!!! Marie was extremely nice and it was such an amazing surprise because we were upgraded to the Squirrel Suite, and had champagne, chocolates and the most delicious homemade olives waiting for us at our room!! The view from the room is beautiful, I would recommend the Squirrel, Pine and I think the Forrest Room for great views!! The breakfast was also delicious! And of course I have to mention they have the cutest dogs!!! Thank you Marie and Gerrit for such a special memorable stay and we hope to be back soon :)

Room Tip: Squirrel, Pine or Eucalyptus Cottage- they are higher up the mountain with stunning views!! And I th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA, USA
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

The B&B is tucked away in the Franschhoek valley and has beautiful surroundings. Gerrit and his parents run the B&B, and he was very helpful with everything from winery recommendations prior to our arrival, local restaurant choices. He basically helped us plan our entire day the morning we left, including calling ahead to a boutique winery that we would have never found on our own. We stayed in the Pine Room and were very happy with the accommodations and the beautiful view from the porch. The breakfast was delicious and the service was great!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Pleasant reception, gorgeous location, stunning views, tasty breakfast served with a laugh, all in all a nice experience and I would certainly recommend Dieu Donne to friends and anyone looking for relaxed, charming getaway spot.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Such was our pleasure at staying at this idyllic accommodation with Gerrit and his mother, Marie and their delightful staff that 2014 will see us returning for a further 6 days. Franschhoek, the sophisticated village within 30 minutes walking distance of the 5 star Dieu Donne Guest Farm. Keeps you fit and content in the beautiful surroundings and yet dining in the evenings by arranged taxi can allow you to experience fine dining, fine wines and full relaxation. We are a contented married couple of 54 years aged 78 and 74 and the experience was sheer joy.

Ron and Peggy, Scotland

Room Tip: We had English room with its unique decoration! But viewed others and all charming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelspruit, Mpumalanga, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We had the fortune of staying in the Squirrel suite which was totally amazing. Gerrit, the owner could not do enough to make our stay an absolute pleasure. He gave us restaurants to go to ( Allora ) and where to have an amazing sundowner ( Roca ). These should not be missed on your visit.

We will definitely be going there again to enjoy the hopsitality and peaceful calm of the Franschhoek valley.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this beautiful setting. The view over the valley was just spectaculor. We stayed in Pine room and were very pleased with our choice. Gerritt made us feel welcome and we looked forward to his chat over our delicious breakfast. The guest farm is slightly out off the beaten track, but no distance at all from the town centre. 5 mins by car and 15 mins along the pretty, quiet back roads by bike. Think rustic, back to nature, rather than high end luxury (although Squirrel Suite is pretty luxurious), and you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Squirrel Suite or Pine Room are higher up the mountain, have the most privacy and the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dieu Donne Guest Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dieu Donne Guest Farm

Address: Off La Provence Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dieu Donne Guest Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.