We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bizarre but beautiful” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dieu Donne Guest Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Franschhoek
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dieu Donne Guest Farm
Save
You added Dieu Donne Guest Farm to your Saves list
Off La Provence Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 58 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Bizarre but beautiful”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We had really mixed feeling about this place. The setting is nice, but there are major building works on the approach which sadly you can hear from the guesthouse. The room, African, was nice but not as private as we would have liked as the guests next to us had to walk past our veranda. The views for mine room were not good either, as we had originally wanted pine room which is much more secluded and better room. The breakfast was below standard for South Africa and the owner is a real character. He can be a bit full on in the morning but friendly and helpful when it came to making restaurant suggestion. Bon Vivant was great food and we were grateful of the recommendation of sundowner at Rocco. Bizarre host but honest and helpful.

Room Tip: Africa was ok, Ethiopia had little privacy. Go for pine or more secluded detached rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    28
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
96
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Stayed here with my girlfriend and was so impressed. The out of the way location makes it supremely peaceful and the room itself was lovely. The breakfast was also delicious, eggs any way you like them! Gay friendly

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Lovely spot with nice grounds, a pool and a jacuzzi - perfect for relaxing in the afternoon after a few wine tastings in the morning! Thought the host was very funny, every breakfast is like a bit of standup comedy with all the guests, so be prepared to have a laugh! Also loved the two friendly dogs and all the plastic cats dotted around the place, presumably there are live cats somewhere as well...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

In a very picturesque setting, the view is stunning. We spent 2 nights here in February and can't fault it. The accommodation was very nice and well catered for in the Eucalyptus cottage. Lots of little touches like tranquil music to listen to, candles for a romantic dinner. The owners were very helpful and welcoming.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ayr, scotland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

After a few days in Constantia, we made our way to Franschhoek. What a beautiful town.
Dieu Donne is a little off the beaten track ...and the track is particularly rocky right now as there is some big new house construction going on close by. You certainly need a car here.
We had 2 cottages, Squirrel and Pine....both lovely in their own way. Squirrel by far the larger with huge bedroom and a huge bathroom.
The views are truly spectacular.
Breakfasts were excellent...and entertaining. Gerrit is true character. This Jack Nicholson look alike (although younger and taller) shares a constant stream of comments on the state of the world and the behaviour and attitudes of guests past and present. You may be tired when arriving at breakfast but you are up and running by the time you finish!
Gerrit cannot do enough to help...moving tables by the pool side to make you more comfortable, recommending restaurants, arranging bike hires etc etc. Nothing is too much trouble and he does it with such great enthusiasm. If you like a rustic location with entertainment and genuine help thrown in, this is the place for you.

Room Tip: Go for the top of the range Squirrel. For views go for the cottages on the higher ground and not the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Where to begin? My wife and I recently got married and decided Cape Town was the place to go, for a number of reasons I don't need to spell out, for our honeymoon. We spent four nights in the luxurious Squirrel Suite at Dieu Donne and, wow, was it perfect.

The Dieu Donne experience actually started well months before we arrived with email correspondence back and forth with the bubbly host of affairs, Gerrit. He was so helpful and upbeat that, when compared to other places in Franschhoek, his personality made it hard to consider staying anywhere else. And his humour. A riot. Not easy to convey that sort of attitude via email, but he succeeded, and when we finally met him in the flesh we felt like we'd been acquainted much longer. A pleasant feeling to have when we're so far away from home.

Upon arrival, Gerrit had gone out of his way to take care of us. A honeymooners present awaited us in the refrigerator, and he'd helped us make bookings and reservations for restaurants, wine tastings, bicycle tours, etc. Again, Gerrit went above and beyond in taking care of us. While we felt special, we realized that other guests were getting just as much attention to detail. How he balanced this, I do not know, but he did.

The Squirrel Suite was awesome. A master bedroom with ensuite bathroom. Near perfection. The only thing wrong with the Squirrel Suite was that we didn't get to spend as much time in it as we would've liked: our days were so full of fun things to do that we didn't get more than a few hours over 5 days to sit and enjoy the splendid views.

Highly recommended. So glad that we made the effort to get to Dieu Donne, and very thankful for kind souls like Gerrit who can be the different between good and great. Don't think twice, book now.

Room Tip: Squirrel Suite was delightful. The self-catering house looked really cool. There were a couple of ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We had an excellent stay at a most welcoming lodge with very good facilities.The situation and facilites are first class, the food was great and this family run establishment thoroughly merits the success it enjoys.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dieu Donne Guest Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dieu Donne Guest Farm

Address: Off La Provence Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dieu Donne Guest Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.