We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous country restuarant in Franschoek” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe BonBon

Cafe BonBon
Excelsior Road | La Petite Dauphine Guest Farm, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
+27 21 876 2679
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 61 Restaurants in Franschhoek
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Durban, South Africa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Gorgeous country restuarant in Franschoek”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

This place is really beautiful with a lovely out door style setting. The food was great and service was perfect. Nice open space in from of restaurant for children. There is an indoor restaurant which was fook

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    66
    15
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Tasty Meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

A very pleasant meal with a good choice of starters and mains. Our friends had venison which was well prepared. The request for tuna was seared and it was cooked through, however on the second round it was cooked to perfection. Desserts were also very good and Creme brûlée and chocolate torte are highly recommendable. I however would not rate the restaurant as the top restaurant in Franschoek.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Words can't describe how good this place is”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

We are a couple visiting from San Francisco CA, where there is good food. This was the best dinner I've ever had - we went back again for breakfast. It was so good we wanted to lick the plates.

And there's a rooster. Henrick, I believe.

Top notch experience all around. Don't miss this.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lunch in the sun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014 via mobile

A fantastic little find. Go for lunch and eat in the Beautiful gardens.
Very peaceful the perfect spot.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windhoek, Namibia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic BonBon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

My husband and I stayed at La Petit Dauphine and enjoyed breakfast and lunch at cafe Bon Bon. Perfect setting and the Eggs Benedict Royale was absolutely Amazing. The waiters were friendly and Hendrik's morning greetings was always welcomed. THANK YOU! Wish we stayed longer...

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe BonBon also viewed

Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 

Been to Cafe BonBon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe BonBon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.