We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a hidden gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe BonBon

Cafe BonBon
Excelsior Road | La Petite Dauphine Guest Farm, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
+27 21 876 2679
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 61 Restaurants in Franschhoek
Cuisines: International, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“a hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

Cafe Bon Bon isn't on the main strip in Franschhoek so is easy to overlook but is well worth the trip (a couple of miles from the centre). The views of wine country from the terrace are superb. The food is hearty, served in large, unfussy portions with none of the pretentiousness of some other Franschhoek restaurants. The staff are genuinely lovely, and there is a surprisingly charismatic rooster called Hendrik who will help you eat your bread if you are stuffed. It was recommended to us by locals and I totally see why.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    66
    15
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“top notch all round”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

Going to cafe bon bonis a treat on a weekend for breakfast or lunch. Really enjoy the pork belly or curry. Great service and atmosphere with cheeky rooster and farm dog playing around you providing entertainment. Great job!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Friendly service with fantastic food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

This hidden gem on Le Petit Dauphine farm gives great food, the service is friendly and is situated in a beautiful valley with mountains all around. Well worth a visit a few kilometers out of busy Franschoek village.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ojai, California
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
“The Best Lunch Experience in the Winelands”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

If you are visiting Franschhoek do yourself a real favor and try this cozy, romantic lunch stop in the La Petite Dauphine Guest Farm. We happened upon this real find at the suggestion of our B&B host and certainly was not disappointed. It is a very small cafe with great ambience, food and drink to match. They do not have a huge menu but have a very ample selection of starters, entrees and deserts. When we visited it was a cold rainy day and in the small cafe they had a huge fire going in the fireplace and offered some very good wines to make us very comfortable. The service was wonderful with the waitress as friendly as a family member. Upon our request, she proceded to orient us with the various wineries in the region and even gave us a souvenir book with winery statistics and information. We had their tomato basil soup, homemade breads and a bottle of Gram Beck Chablis. We would have gone back for dinner but they only serve lunch.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uden, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Splendid location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

We were on our 25th honeymoon anniversary and had break with friends here.
good breakfast on terracce of a splendid location with good views on the vineyards and the mountains. We had a remarkable breakfast/morning in a very good sense of it.
Very much recommended!!! We'll be back here July 2011. Splendid function hall. Pity some friends dare not to fly!

  • Visited January 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe BonBon also viewed

Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 

Been to Cafe BonBon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe BonBon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.