We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real Italian restaurant, run by real Italians” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Allora

Allora
32 Main Road | Next to Standard Bank, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
+27 21 876 4375
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 64 Restaurants in Franschhoek
Price range: $3 - $20
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Casual, yet Sophisticated, Authentic Italian. 3 Seating Areas available, Outside, Downstairs and Upstairs. Cozy Interior with a Central Pizza Oven. Nice Roaring Fireplaces during the Winter time and open areas outside during summer time. We offer Coctails during the summer outside. Booking always essential. Please make use of our Complimentary Shuttle Service between the Guest Houses and Hotels within Franschhoek Town (When Available). We have Specials Daily and a Kids Menu.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Real Italian restaurant, run by real Italians”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

This is not fake Italian food. The pizzas are famous, the veal dishes delicious, the garden under trees a boon on a hot Franschoek afternoon. Lots of place for the kids to tumble around while waiting for the food to come. Service is solicitous and charmingly Italian, lots of parking just on the outskirts of Franschoek on one's way back to Cape Town. Great wines.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    100
    35
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Easy, family friendly, lots of choice.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

We arrived hungry and tired and left feeling like we had a wonderful evening! Staff were attentive, menu has a great selection, food came fast and was delicious. Stuffed calamari, parma ham & melon, both excellent flavours, followed by pizza for me (thin but still a bit doughy for my taste) but my husband had the kudu steak on special which was absolutely delicious. Can't comment on desserts as we were too full! Would go again.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godalming
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Food at Allora”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

This was a real find - we went there twice in the 7 nights we stayed at Rickety Bridge and had a great meal both times. They picked us up from the hotel and dropped us free of charge, which was very helpful. The staff were friendly and efficient, the portions were large, there was a very good selection of food, and it was very well cooked. I had the seared tuna one night and line fish the second night. There was a good selection of wine, at very good prices. I'd recommend this as a very relaxed and informal restaurant in Franschhoek, well worth going to.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

delicious food and amazing people. the vibe here is very wine country. very great place to go eat at!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Number 1 eatery in Franschhoek”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Allora is by far the no 1 restaurant in Franschhoek! The food is amazing... seafood is of the freshest quality... & pastas are mouth watering... ideal place to spend a sunday lunch! Service is good & the owners are present chatting to the customers which is lovely!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Allora also viewed

Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 

Been to Allora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Allora, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.