We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dutch East Restaurant

Dutch East Restaurant
42 Huguenot Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
0218763547
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 64 Restaurants in Franschhoek
Price range: $5 - $18
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Entertaining clients, Families with children, Doing business, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Dutch East cuisine is a unique combination of uncomplicated bistro fare, full of traditional South African flavours with healthy portions perfectly presented. The combination of delicate Asian flavours with robust local ingredients creates a subtle yet balanced experience.We specialise in the preparation of meat and seafood. From home smoked bacon, bresaola biltong, dry aged steaks to fresh line fish and daily specials. Open Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner, 7 days a week!
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Great Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The wife and I decided last minute to dine in the Franschhoek area. Leaving it late we could not get a booking in one of the more famous venues in town. The manager of our BB recommended Duch East. We were apprehansive as we had a not so good experience there many years ago, biut gave it a try. We were pleasantly suprised.

Between us we had the Duck Wanton, Peri Peri Duck livers and Cajun Spiced Squid for starters. They were fantastic. My wife wanted here Squid done on the grill and it was no problem. I had the fillet for a main which render and tasty with a tangy salad and chips

The food was very well priced, especially by Franschhoek standards, well presented and very good on flavor. The food complemented by the excellent service given by the very attentive staff. A great evening and we will visit again

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    118
    47
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johnson City, Tennessee
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Delightful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

My husband and I happened upon this little gem while in Franschoek last month. Service was friendly and efficient, the atmosphere was cosy, and the food was delicious!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We had an overall good experience at Dutch East. The service was excellent. We mentioned to the waiter that we are vegetarian and she immediately suggested the vegetarian options available making it easy for us to decide on our order. Friendly staff and great friendly manager on duty! Food was fresh and very tasty and the setting of the restaurant was lovely for a nice sunny day under the trees ;) We will most definitely go back to the restaurant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franschhoek, South Africa
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Totally disappointing! twice”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

After having an awful burger that was ice cold with a freezing pineapple ring last Sunday, we returned for dinner on an invitation from friends, reluctantly we went and I had the prawn masala curry which was completely over cooked, the rice tasted like an old shoe. We waited for more than an hour for food as surprisingly it was full. Luckily the company was good and the wine great. They were under staffed and manager seemed too young and out of his depth. Not once were we asked my him how we were doing. Out of the table 3 out of the 8 meals were OK-ish.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect for sundowners”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

great service - staff go out of their way - lovely setting outside and beautiful inside too!!
We just stopped for a drink but the menu looks delicious..

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dutch East Restaurant also viewed

Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 

Been to Dutch East Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dutch East Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.