We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Wine” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Haut Espoir Winery

Haut Espoir Winery
Franschhoek, South Africa
(+27 21) 876-4000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 33 activities in Franschhoek
Type: Wineries
Attraction Details
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
“Great Wine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Small family winery, a very nice red blend called Gentle Giant named after Rob the owner who is a giant.
Rob gave us a tour of the area and he was extremely clued up on all the flora and Fauna in the area.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Humansdorp, South Africa
1 review
“Great Views & Wine & Owner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

We really enjoyed our visit to this winery. The views are stunning from here, overlooking the valley.
They have outstanding wines and the owner, Rob, is very friendly & helpful.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Must visit in Franschhoek”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

Visiting Haut was amazing, definitely do the tour of all the native flora and fauna. It was our most unique winery visit, and most memorable.

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Well worth the trip up the hill”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2010

Rob Armstrong is not just passionate about the wines at Haut Espoir, he is passionate about the balance of nature at the winery as well. We took the easier of his two 'Fynbos walks' as one of our party has recently had a knee op and spent a fascinating 90 minutes in Rob's company learning about the various plants on the estate before retiring to the tasting room for a glass or two of his wines. It's a great way to get an insight into how a small winery functions and lightyears away from the standard SA tasting experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Fynbos Walk at Haut Espoir Wine Estate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2009

We recently had our semi-annual "wine vacation" in Franschhoek and this time did something REALLY different; we booked a guided fynbos walk with Rob Armstrong, managing director at Haut Espoir wine estate. It is such a unique and refreshing thing to do in the valley and we hope more people will take advantage of this resource in the future. Lest you think Franschhoek is "only" about good food and drink, think again ...

Besides making good wine, the Armstrong family has based Haut Espoir on a biodiversity philosophy that includes allowing - and in some instances actively plant - vast tracts of land on the farm to revert to its original fynbos plant ecosystem. A walk on the mountainside reveals so many examples of these interesting plants, including different types of protea. Rob estimates that of the nearly 5,000 fynbos species indigenous to South Africa, at least 500 now grow on the farm. Rob is incredibly knowledgeable and passionate about fynbos and will give you a great introduction to what this unique ecosystem is all about; including the numerous dietary and medicinal uses of the plants. It is exercise clambering up and down the mountainside and the walk offers breath-taking vistas of the Franschhoek Valley.

After the walk, Rob does a lovely wine tasting in their beautifully appointed facilities. Please note that the length and level of difficulty of the walk can be adjusted. Our walk was about 1.5 hours long and quite strenuous, but Rob can tailor this to individual needs.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Haut Espoir Winery also viewed

 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 

Been to Haut Espoir Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Haut Espoir Winery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Haut Espoir Winery to your Saves list