We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic apartment in the center of Franschhoek” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ivy Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Ivy Apartments to your Saves list
The Ivy Apartments
5.0 of 5 Cottage   |   1 Kruger Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic apartment in the center of Franschhoek”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

A really nice apartment with lots of space!

Fully equipped with kitchen, washing machine, TV, DVD, 2 bathrooms, AC, fan....

A perfect place to stay if you are visiting the wine and food paradise of Franschhoek.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    32
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
46
81
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Enjoyed staying at your apartments, within walking distance to restaurants & shops. Wellington very helpful at all times when we called for assistance.
Please check that everything is in working order before the guest arrive.
The ironing board was broken which Wellington replaced immediately.
The last 2 days we showered in cold water because the cleaners switched off the geysers

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We loved our stay at The Ivy where we were received with a warm welcome back by Wellington. The apartments are tastefully furnished and so spacious and comfortable with beautifully clean linen.
The Ivy is centrally situated on the main road and is close to everything. We loved every minute of our stay and will definitely highly recommend it to anyone. There is so much to do in this lovely little town.
Many thanks to all.
Estelle Katz

Room Tip: All three apartments were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights on our honeymoon. The apartments are centrally located in Franschhoek. We had a lovely apartment (No 6). The apartments was decorated immaculately with minimalist decor and furnishings. The living room was a vaulted double height space with a massive mezzanine bed deck. The were giant windows that led out onto a private balcony overlooking the main road in Franschhoek. The apartment also had another bedroom, a kitchen and two bathrooms. This really is great accommodation and would highly recommend booking.

There were a few niggly things with the apartment which could do with sorting out - poor wifi made it practically unusable, blinds let light in the morning and there were two high windows uncovered, the bed also crippled my back for a couple of days so could probably do with a better quality mattress, no one on site to great us other than the cleaner. I would let these put you off though as the apartments are really stunning.

Room Tip: Apartment 6 was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

My girlfriend and I escaped for a spontaneous overnight getaway here recently and it was fabulous. Beautiful modern spacious apartments in the centre of Franschoek.
We stayed just the two of us but perfect for 4 people.
The open plan kitchen, dinning room and lounge was comfortable and stylish.
On our arrival we were shown around and made to feel right at home.

A special mention needs to be made for the robes and towels - they were exceptionally soft and comfy. The bathroom is beautiful & modern with a massive shower.

They definitely put in the extra effort to make sure our stay was comfortable.

Cant wait to return for another dreamy get away.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THEIVYAPARTMENTS, Manager at The Ivy Apartments, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review,at The Ivy we are constantly striving to make our guests stay a memorable experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

We have been to Franschhoek a number of times across different hotels. This time we wanted a self catering apartment - whilst I don't know of any others I would recommend in preference to this, there were too many issues with this place.

On the positive side, the chap who is around in the evening to look after the place is very helpful and tried his best with us. And the location, in the middle of the highstreet is absolutely perfect if you want to walk to restaurants and bars.

On the downside I didnt sleep a wink, and even contemplated leaving a number of times. The rooms seem to vary significantly with those facing the road appearing to have nice balcony furniture and fitted curtains. The ones we were in, inside the complex had the balcony barred off so you cant get out and a pile of stones on the balcony as a view. There were only blinds on the window which didn't keep out any light whatsoever and since they are only fitted over half of the window anyway, you will be woken up by the sun at 5am every day. What's more, with the bedroom on a raised mezzanine level and the hot air rising, it is like sleeping in a furnace with only one ineffective ac unit trying unsuccessfully to cool the whole place. Even if both of these things were resolved I still question how anyone could sleep in a bed that size...I have never seen anything like it..they appear to be about 5ft 5 inches long. I am 6'3" and the bed finished at just below my knees! It's like a house for dwarves or something!

The Internet also didn't work, which apparently is in the process of being upgraded. In conclusion whilst I don't know of a better self catering to recommend in the area, I know I won't be staying there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THEIVYAPARTMENTS, Manager at The Ivy Apartments, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Dear Chris
Thank you for your review ,we constantly try to improve our services to our guests and have taken note of your comments and will were we can improve on them.
Our guests at The Ivy enjoy the space and the privacy and comfort of large apartments without the usual fuss of hotels,guest houses and b& b`s
As well as our wonderful location right in the heart of the village.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Shepstone, South Africa
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

If you are a traveller preferring style over functionality , but ideally both, then the Ivy Apartments situated in close proximity to the High Street of the quaint Franschhoek Village is for you. Perfectly located at the entrance to the commercial end of Franschhoek under dappled trees and with scenic views to the colossal mountains that make a magnificent statement our apartment delivered all that was expected. Although not manned by a formal reception over the weekends a designated on site ‘caretaker’ was on hand to receive us, introduce us to our new lodgings for the weekend and explain the lay out and modus operandi with entry and exit from the Property which was secure and safe. Our Apartment was ultra-modern fitted out with great style and offering a loft style arrangement that oozed with comfort and modernity. The kitchen was fitted with amenities and modern white goods beyond the standard offerings of an apartment of this calibre. The large TV offered additional DSTV channels but proved to be somewhat cumbersome to operate. Cleaning was on demand and service friendly. The overall rate offered provided great value and I would certainly return to experience this collection again and will have no hesitation in recommending this establishment to both Domestic and overseas clients.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ivy Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ivy Apartments

Address: 1 Kruger Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 38 Specialty Lodging in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ivy Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ivy Apartments are a collection of 9 luxury self catering one- and two- bedroom apartments, (breakfast by prior arrangement) situated uniquely on the main strip of Franschhoek Village. The apartments are fitted with bamboo flooring, air conditioning, modern integrated appliances and every convenience you could require. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Ivy Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ivy Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.