We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tram Stop” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Haute Cabriere Restaurant

Haute Cabriere Restaurant
Pass Road (R45), Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
+27 21 876 3688
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 64 Restaurants in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: French, Winery, European, Vegetarian, Contemporary, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Nestled into the side of the Franschhoek Mountain, the iconic Haute Cabriere Restaurant is renowned for its unique location. Soaring arches frame the picture perfect view over the cathedral-like Pinot Noir Barrel Maturation Cellar below which offers a superlative wine tasting experience not to be missed. On sunny days, guests can enjoy the beautiful vistas over the magnificent Franschhoek valley from the terrace whilst on cool days a roaring fire beckons. Chef Ryan Shell's menu revolves around seasonal availability of produce, which is mostly sourced locally or even grown organically on Haute Cabriere. A selection of full- and half portions, as well as a variety of smaller bites from the Delicious Little Things menu (served in the afternoons) encourage guests to relax and sample a variety of enticing pairings. A selection of tasting menus - including a comprehensive vegetarian menu - offer a wonderful journey through Haute Cabriere's wine and food offering. The flavours and textures on the plate are specifically designed to complement the range of Haute Cabriere wines and Pierre Jourdan Cap Classiques - all of them served by the glass and by the bottle. Bringing all of these elements together, Haute Cabriere offers the complete marriage of food and wine.
Cape Town
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Tram Stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

First stop on our Wine tram trip. Very beautiful and peaceful views, friendly staff, and very nice wines

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin494, Public Relations Manager at Haute Cabriere Restaurant, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Hi AnnelieCapeTown,
Thank you for the review and taking the time to visit recently. We really are fortunate to work in such a beautiful environment and we look forward to seeing you again soon, perhaps to try our fantastic food too!

Kind regards,
The Haute Cabriere Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    90
    29
    25
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
“On the Wine Tram”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

First stop of our day. Generous pours, only place with bubbles on their tasting menu so we tried them all. Stayed for 2 trams time as it was so pleasant. Tasting room in the side of a hill, very friendly staff, great views.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin494, Public Relations Manager at Haute Cabriere Restaurant, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Hi TravelTwinkie,
Thank you not only for visiting us but for taking the time to write your review. We welcome all feedback and are so glad you had a great time.

Look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind regards,
The Haute Cabriere Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Delicious Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Stopped for lunch and afterwards went to taste their sparkling wines. Was told this is the only underground winery in Franschhoek. Heard the views are lovely but unfortunately the weather wasn't so great when we went so we didn't see much.

Restaurant is very nice. We were seated by the fireplace. Menu offers starters, main courses and desserts but each main course is also available in "half" sizes. I ordered two half size main courses, tuna and lamb.

Each offering is paired with a particular wine, though one doesn't have to follow their recommendation. Food was EXCELLENT and beautifully presented.

Our waitress was lovely -- gave us some background on the winery, was attentive and very pleasant.

Enjoyed the tasting afterward (located next to the restaurant)and bought some to enjoy later!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin494, Public Relations Manager at Haute Cabriere Restaurant, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Hi Jankabar,

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review of your experience with us. We are very lucky to work in such a stunning environment as this - we'll try and organise some better weather for your next visit for you to enjoy the spectacular vistas over the Franschhoek Valley!

Thanks again for visiting.
Kind regards,
The Haute Cabriere Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberwell, Victoria, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic Restaurant with Amazing Views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We were doing a wine tasting with Blue View Travels and the tour Guide Alto, recommended this restaurant for lunch. The views from the Restaurant where amazing, thankfully the weather was nice so we could sit outside & enjoy it. Our waitress Susie was friendly & knowledgeable about the wines & food. We could not fault the view, the food or the service. I would recommend this restaurant!! Good value for money!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin494, Public Relations Manager at Haute Cabriere Restaurant, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Candsanne,

Thank you for visiting and for sharing your experience! We are very proud of our food & wine and are pleased you enjoyed your time with us. The view over the Franschhoek Valley really is stunning and every day we find ourselves very lucky.

Look forward to you visiting us again soon.
Kind regards,
The Haute Cabriere Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Great location, but .....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

A set menu riddled by "issues" that one should not find in what is meant to be a fine dining meal - and certainly priced accordingly. Food not always piping hot, one (more expensive) tasting wine clearly corked, requested pepper mill that was just dumped on the table, sequencing poor - food appears, followed by someone remembering that the accompanying tasting wine had been forgotten, then the fresh cutlery would follow on request, etc. Tasting meals need to be a joy and properly "managed", especially when they are far from low cost. When guests left their seats to smoke (outside) or go to the toilet, napkins were not neatly folded by the wait-staff - or front of house manager. And I could comment further on the menu - effectively two pasta dishes, one served with mussels with cold shells ......... This could be a great place with someone fixing the detail.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin494, Public Relations Manager at Haute Cabriere Restaurant, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear capeintl,

Thank you very much for your constructive feedback. We completely agree that a tasting menu should be a delightful experience that flows smoothly and seamlessly, with respect to service as well as the food and wine pairings themselves. This is certainly the ideal what we strive toward, and we are sorry that in your particular instance we did not manage to deliver on our standards. Your input is very welcome, and as we continuously aim to improve our offering, your specific points regarding the various details will assist us in the process.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Haute Cabriere in the near future.

Kind regards,

The Haute Cabriere Restaurant Team
restaurant@cabriere.co.za
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Haute Cabriere Restaurant also viewed

Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 

Been to Haute Cabriere Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Haute Cabriere Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.