We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cape Vue Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Franschhoek
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cape Vue Guest House
Save
You added Cape Vue Guest House to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   1 Middagkrans Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 58 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Freistadt, Austria
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Great B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

We came here for a night and stayed 5. Friendly, helpful, clean, cozy and warm (we had some rainy winter days!) room. Very good breakfast. The short walk into town was no problem at all and there is a great veriety of restaurants etc. We definitly would love to come back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    19
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
35
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
england
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

An absolute oasis, so beautiful. We stayed here in December 2012, Grace and Michael were so welcoming and easy going. Grace organised some wine and flowers for a birthday we were celebrating. A short walk to the high st with lovely resturants and shops to explore. Would definately return without a doubt

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

We couldn't believe what good value Cape Vue offered - we stayed in Room 4 and had stunning views, and a large terrace overlooking the pool.
Our hosts were friendly and helpful, and the breakfasts lovely. There was a communal fridge that guests were welcome to use - important after you've purchased some local wines during the day!
It's a short walk from the centre of the village, and the views of the mountains and the local vines are spectacular. We took many trips out to the local wine estates and restaurants, which were consistently wonderful - it's a really magical place.
Our room was enormous and extremely comfortable. We'd definitely come back, and highly recommend it!
We actually travelled over New Year's Eve 2010-2011. We're just late reviewing!

Room Tip: Room 4 has the best view, a large private terrace and access straight on to the lawn and the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seaford
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

Grace and Michael will warmly receive youinto their beautiful positioned house in Franschhoek for what promises to be a peaceful stay.Fantastic views and lovely surroundings on the vineyard will make you wished you had booked in for a few more nights,yet easy walk to shops and amenities and a cool pool to refresh yourself afterwards.We loved it.
Nick and Ros Jan 2012.

Room Tip: ask for a poolside room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

We stayed in the Rose room and the guest house certainly lived up to our expectations, it's in the most beautiful setting. The garden is full of flowers and you see the mountains all around you. The pool is small but you can still swim in it, unlike some splash pools. We found it to be excellent value, there's no air con but in November with temperatures in the mid twenties we found the fan quite adequate. It's a 5 min walk into town but if you're coming back at night take a torch as it's a couple of mins on the dirt road and it's quite dark. We walked both nights but had a torch fortunately!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

I stumbled across this place a little by accident on Trip Advisor because it isn't listed under hotels. I'm very glad I did though as the location was stunning. It's only a few minutes walk into the town centre but feels a world away. Swimming in the pool was one of the most picture perfect moments of the trip, if not my life!
We were given a warm friendly welcome by Grace who walked us around and gave us some leaflets for local drivers, restaurants and so on. As someone else said, they don't necessarily clean the room daily, but we were asked whether we needed this and said we didn't as we were only there two nights and it seemed unecessary work for them. I'm sure if you say you want it cleaned they will do it!
Breakfast wasn't the best we had on our trip, but was perfectly adequate and served on the decking overlooking the mountains, again, beautiful.

My only disappointment was with the room outlook - most of the rooms had decking seating outside, but none of these were avaiable when we booked (two months in advance!) which was a shame, as coming from England, sitting outside in the sun was a priority!! The guesthouse's website has a good page on room details which will tell you which do and which don't have verandas - my advice would be to use this and pay the extra 50 rand for a room which has one.

Room Tip: Go onto their website and chose your room - one of the slightly more expensive ones with verandas wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

Lovely accommodation close to the centre of Franschhoek. Nice big room, nice pool and lovely vineyard surroundings and very helpful and lovely hosts

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cape Vue Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Vue Guest House

Address: 1 Middagkrans Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Hotel Class:3 star — Cape Vue Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 4

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cape Vue Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.