We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long Weekend in Franschhoek” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Salmon Bar at the Yard

Salmon Bar at the Yard
The Yard, 38 Huguenot Road, Franschhoek, South Africa
+2721 876 4591
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 62 Restaurants in Franschhoek
Price range: $7 - $25
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Follow the sound of the water from the Main Road and let it lead you to the cobbled courtyard where you can dine under the wild fig tree... Inside seating also available for cooler days.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Long Weekend in Franschhoek”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

What a nice venue! We just love salmon, and virtually everyting on the menu is salmon related. We had two incredible breakfasts, Eggs Benedict with Salmon, as well as Salmon with a toasted croissant and poached eggs. Brilliant! The cappuccino's were hot and with a good coffee taste. The setting under the tree's in the courtyard is wonderful with a sort of Parisian feeling.
Service was prompt and friendly, and food is very affordable.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    65
    9
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Elfresco lunch spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

We always make a point of having lunch here. When the weather is good, eating in the courtyard away from the Main Street is a pleasure. Service always special. We lunched on the salmon and trout "burger" which was very generous but a tad dry, pear and Gorgonzola salad and a chicken sandwich. All enjoyable.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A GEM”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

I will definitely be back to explore the other interesting items on the vast menu. There were 12 of us seated at the table and each one of us raved about the quality, and the freshness of the food delivered with such awareness of our needs. The owner was also omnipresent to ensure our satisfaction.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelspruit, South Africa
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Unpretentious but excellent value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

This is a small restaurant with a cosy atmosphere and a great host. The bar in the name is a little misleading because it sounds like a sushi bar but there are separate tables. Portion sizes are good for this town and the menu is imaginative. I arrived shortly before closing time but received the best piece of salmon I can remember and a peanut butter cheese cake that was certainly unique. I would definitely return on another occasion.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding Birthday Celebration”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

We celebrated my husband's 60th birthday last weekend at the Salmon Bar and had an outstanding experience. Organizing the party of 16 guests with Nigel was a pleasure, he was very helpful and even managed to accommodate guests with specific dietary needs. The table was beautifully laid outside under the tree with our wines and champagne ready on ice, the food was outstanding and the service exceptional. Guests comments including a number of overseas visitors were as follows " We felt like we were in France" and "This is the best Salmon trout I have ever eaten" and " We will be coming back here". The atmosphere was relaxed and we all lingered well into the afternoon. I can highly recommend the Salmon bar for food, atmosphere, service and good value.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salmon Bar at the Yard also viewed

Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 

Been to Salmon Bar at the Yard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salmon Bar at the Yard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.