We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not prejudge.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Salmon Bar at the Yard

Salmon Bar at the Yard
The Yard, 38 Huguenot Road, Franschhoek, South Africa
+2721 876 4591
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 64 Restaurants in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $7 - $25
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Follow the sound of the water from the Main Road and let it lead you to the cobbled courtyard where you can dine under the wild fig tree... Inside seating also available for cooler days.
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Do not prejudge.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

During the holiday season it can be a real challenge to obtain a meal in Franschhoek, every restaurant is fully booked.

We were seeking lunch!!

By chance we stumbled upon the Salmon Bar at the Yard, it looked fairly ordinary, but we needed to eat. The Manager, who was super helpful, found us a great spot at a large table under a tree in the yard. Sharing the table with us was a young couple, with their children and it proved to be a pleasure to be in their company.

As starters we shared a prawn & rice spring roll - seriously good.
To follow,my wife had the Scattered salmon Sushi, which she rated delicious/brilliant.
She is passionate about food
I had the squid which was also very good.
This was all washed down with an excellent bottle of Lynx Blanc de Noir.

Very, very good.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    88
    15
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Always great :-)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

I come to Salmon Bar often. I am regularly in Franschhoekon business, and it's one of the lighter places for lunch among a number of amazing heavy-hitting restaurants.

Every time I come here i thoroughly enjoy my meal. From their simple pate served with toast, to their hake fishfingers (way fancier than they sound!), or potstickers or noodle bowls, everything is delicious. If you're staying in Franschhoek and would like something lighter, or if you're just passing through and don't have time for a big lunch, try this place. I have yet to be disappointed, I hope you enjoy it.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Comes up trumps every time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

Have eaten there on numerous occasions and every time it is a winner. There is something delicious to tickle your taste buds no matter what you feel like

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windhoek, Namibia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Quiet tucked away from the main bustle of Franschhoek”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Interesting menu, nice quiet courtyard and while the wine list is not the greatest, it boast enough choice to compliment the food

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
515 reviews 515 reviews
367 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 172 cities Reviews in 172 cities
322 helpful votes 322 helpful votes
“Wasn't quite as good as I'd expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

Our starter of sashimi platter was excellent. I then went on to order hake fingers which read that they were in an African spice - sadly what I got was deep fried hake. Not being a person who likes fried food I think this is why I've not got the best view of the restaurant I thought I'd have. Andy enjoyed his meal though.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salmon Bar at the Yard also viewed

Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 

Been to Salmon Bar at the Yard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salmon Bar at the Yard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.