We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A find in Franschhoek” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Salmon Bar at the Yard

Salmon Bar at the Yard
The Yard, 38 Huguenot Road, Franschhoek, South Africa
+2721 876 4591
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 62 Restaurants in Franschhoek
Price range: $7 - $25
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Follow the sound of the water from the Main Road and let it lead you to the cobbled courtyard where you can dine under the wild fig tree... Inside seating also available for cooler days.
Bures. UK
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A find in Franschhoek”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We usually make one visit to Franschhoek when we are staying in Stellenbosch. I think the Franschhoek Valley is one of the most beautiful places i have been to. We always wander down Huguenot Road and keep an eye open for interesting places for lunch. We found this restaurant by chance as it is not very obvious from the Street and we were pleased to be able to sit outside at the back where we had views of the valley. We both ate a Prawn and Mango salad which was excellent. The place seemed quite popular as there were no spare tables outside, but a few inside. Attentive service.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    65
    9
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Visit every time when in Franschhoek!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We visit The Salmon Bar every time we are in Franschhoek. Our last visit was in September 2012 - we (4 adults) enjoyed the breakfasts and excellent coffee! We also bought cupcakes and baked cheese cake for take-away. Very friendly staff and good service! Will return as always when in Franschhoek!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Perfect summer lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Had a lazy afternoon lunch here. I would recommend the salmon platter journey for 2. Salmon, trout and the best mackerel I have ever tasted! Relaxing atmosphere, good wine selection and the service was great too!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Fresh, tasty seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Enjoyed a lazy afternoon eating salmon, pate's and fresh bread. A must for fish lovers. A wide variety of wines are served by the glass. There is a deli and you can stock up on fresh fish, bread and cupcakes. A little gem.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

Excellent fish restaurant- specialising in trout and salmon, prepared in numerous different ways. Service friendly and attentive. Food was extremely fresh and tasty.

Option to sit on veranda or in a courtyard under trees.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salmon Bar at the Yard also viewed

Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 

Been to Salmon Bar at the Yard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salmon Bar at the Yard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.