We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“yummy.......” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Des Arts

Cafe Des Arts
7 Reservoir Street West, Franschhoek, South Africa
+27 8762952
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 64 Restaurants in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Based in the small village of Franschhoek in the Western Cape. Franschhoek is renowned world wide for Haut Cuisine and Fine Dining. Cafe des Arts is neither Haute Cuisine nor Fine Dining! Cafe des Arts is a simple, rustic, relaxed restaurant where all that matters is the food. There are no table cloths, no silver service and the food is from the pan to the plate. If you're lucky, you may even get some cutlery! -
UK
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“yummy.......”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

A wonderful peaceful setting....food was stunning....calamari and chorizo salad, pork belly, roast duck and the deserts....wow....service was quick and attentive but never I your face....

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    98
    34
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Change of Pace”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

If you opt for a night at one of the excellent 8 course with wine pairings, 4 hour extravagances available at several Franschoek eateries, perhaps the next night you may seek the relaxed, elbows on table ok fine dining experience offered by C des A. Wonderful raw materials presented, without blurring marinates, glazes, etc. We had one beef and one pasta dish and the bill was insignificant. Magnificent dining in casual rustic milieu. Bon appetit!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Stunning meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

What a delight. Soup to start. Then an array of dishes that every-one genuinely enjoyed.
The beer and wine list may be a bit limited.
For an authentic wholesome meal, this was it.
A team of interested people took care of our evening with all that we could ask for.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Extremely good quality food with a casual atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

Cafe des Art is down an unassuming path off Main Street Franschhoek. It's a modest casual restaurant but the food was second to none. The chef personally sources fish from Cape Town markets daily and supplies fish to the other, more fancy looking restaurants in town. His focus is on simple meals and excellent produce and he delivers in spades. We had a perfectly cooked seared tuna with a habanero sauce and the kabaljou with buerre blanc.

We also had a very good breakfast here. We'd recommend it highly for any meal of the day.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flitwick, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“A Good Find In Franschhoek”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Café des Arts was recommended to us by our B&B host, and we were glad that she did. It's not obvious, you have to look for a small ironwork arch that leads to a pathway taking you to Café des Arts about 50 metres behind the main street.
It feels quite bohemian, and more like a café than a restaurant, however that is not a criticism. The staff were very welcoming and friendly, the menu was brought to the table on a large blackboard and explained to us. Some reviewers seem to think this made the whole place slap-dash, we just saw it as a touch of individualism.
The meals we had were very enjoyable, the atmosphere was nicely informal. The reason for awarding four rather than five on our rating stems only from the depth of the menu. It is not extensive, but then this is a small establishment so maybe that needs to be taken into consideration.
Would recommend and would return

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Des Arts also viewed

Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 

Been to Cafe Des Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Des Arts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.